We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Presentation of Somber Topic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Slave Mart Museum

Old Slave Mart Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Lost Stories of Black Charleston Walking Tour
Ranked #35 of 229 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
MA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Presentation of Somber Topic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We recently watched the movie "Twelve Years a Slave" and it really helped to put this in perspective. Slavery is not a topic people are comfortable with and yet it's an important piece of our history. It's hard to fathom people treating other humans like this. I'd compare the feeling to the Holocaust Museum on a much smaller scale.

This is a small museum set in an actual slave mart in the downtown of beautiful Charleston. It was one of 40 slave marts. The outer buildings have been destroyed, but this building remains and the museum is the best use for it. There are not a lot of artifacts, but once you see the shackles it hits you. I imagine people did not want to keep these reminders of this terrible time.

The entry fee is $7 ($5 for seniors and children) and requires a lot of reading. This is not the place to bring young children - they become bored and distract other patrons. Allow 1 to 1 1/2 hours. There are a a few audio recordings and many written accounts. Use your imagination to recreate the events that happened here - especially if you see the above-mentioned movie. The docents at the entrance are helpful and informative. There is a small book shop.

The museum focuses on interstate slave trade; the upstairs travelling exhibit focuses on the civil rights movement. Self-guided tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Bearvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    296
    131
    50
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Girard, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bernman's #1”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Nice Older setting and market lane. However, just a flee market with custom accents. It is said that this is were the slaves sold their wears to make some income. All of this area is very nostalgic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Central place in American Slave Trade”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

The place and topic certainly allow for contemplation of the place of Slavery in our American History. While the building itself is an artifact from the Slave trade, there are very few other artifacts to view. The story of slavery is told through a series of story boards many containing personal recollections of slaves or ancestors of slaves. This makes for a lot of reading and something small children may not want to participate. Charleston played a significant part in the slave trade where 4 in 10 individuals sold into slavery came through this Slave Mart. Yet there were a number of free African Americans living in Charleston as well. This juxtaposition is discussed providing a different point of view on Slavery. The second floor is a discussion on the civil rights movement. Admission is $7 for adults and $5 for seniors. I would 1 -2 hours depending on how in depth you want to read all the material.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
176 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

This is an actual old Slave market turned into a museum. Upon entering, the attendant was very informative and helpful in answering our questions. The only thing I disliked is that it was just a glimpse into South Carolina's slavery history. A must see for history buffs.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lennexmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah, Usa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Place for reflection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

So far as I know, this is not someplace you can go inside. We just walked by it. There is an open peoples marketplace just in front. Lots of local crafts for sale. Of particular interest were the baskets woven by slave descendents.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Slave Mart Museum also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Slave Mart Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing