We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guide and tour but steer clear of who answers the phones - terribly rude & disrespectful”

Charleston's Best Tours
Ranked #129 of 234 Tours in Charleston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Upbeat and entertaining, 1.5 hour, historic walking tours through the beautiful 'Holy City', Charleston, SC. I am an officially licenced tour guide with the City of Charleston. There are two different walking tours offered, the 'Harbor Side Walking Tour', offered 3 times daily and the "Cheerful Central Tour', offered twice daily. Check out available tours at CheerfulCharlestonTours.com
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The guide was wonderful and the tour interesting and historical.
However, I haven't experience such poor customer service in a very long time. The person answering phones was rude, aggressive and I felt like I was talking to a teenager - completely unprofessional and not acceptable. It is unfortunate because the guide and tour were so great!

5  Thank Beck2422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalekallven, General Manager at Charleston's Best Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for your input- i would like address the nature of the phone call you referenced:

Your group of 4 was asked to arrive at 9:45pm to check in for the 10:00pm tour (along with 10+ other participants). You called at 9:58p to say you were "on the way" but weren't able to disclose your exact location--we explained that if you made it by 10:00pm great, if not, we would get you on a 10:45pm tour with one of our honorable competitors close to our location. We're glad your group was able to eventually catch up, but it did cause an interruption to our other guests. It is unfortunate that you felt your experience with our scheduler was unpleasant, but we were also trying to maintain the itinerary for the sake of our guests who arrived on time.

We are glad you enjoyed Roy's tour, and hope the rest of your visit was wonderful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

20 - 24 of 40 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

A reluctant activity for half of our party, the skeptic. Tour was very good, though. Humorous, and a lot of history as well as the ghost lore. A nice walk through some of the side streets and alleys in Charleston. If you want to do a ghost tour this is a good one, especially if someone in your group is not really into the whole ghost thing, our guide told us a lot of historical info as well.

2  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

W really enjoyed ourselves it is a must see place I don't want to give to much away that the hidden secret :-)

1  Thank SandyBooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Charleston's best tours is one of the best attractions in Charleston. We've been on alot of ghost tours while visiting the area, and this tour was by far out favorite! The tour starts out at the Griffon, one of charleston's cultural and historic landmarks. This meetup point sets the tone for the rest of the tour. We were able to grab a beer before the start of the tour, take in the atmosphere of the bar, and build up excitement for the tour. Our tour guide, Roy, was extremely well informed and truly knowledable about Charleston and its history. He really took his time telling us some of the cities best haunted stories. His style was relaxed like he was talking to old friends. We absolutely recommend making this tour a part of your Charleston experience.

3  Thank gtoofresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2012

A brilliant suggestion by one of our party to book this tour over Easter weekend 2012! Ambiance was perfect as we settled into darkness and riveting ghost stories with our guide, George. His storytelling is exceptional, his delivery dead perfect. Our stroll was just right in length and, above all, appropriately spooky. Though I have lived in Charleston at various times, I had nearly forgotten just how rich it is in legend and atmosphere. This tour with our excellent guide played a huge part in the enjoyment of my return to Charleston. I would do it again with just as much pleasure and definitely on one of your first-class tours. My compliments to George and Charleston's Best Tours!

1  Thank Kathleen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston's Best Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston's Best Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing