We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Absolutely wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Middleton Place

Middleton Place
Ranked #7 of 224 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Middleton Place is an 18th century rice plantation and National Historic Landmark comprising 65 acres of America's oldest landscaped Gardens, the Middleton Place House Museum and the Plantation Stableyards. The Gardens reflect the elegant symmetry of 17th century European design. Sculpted terraces, parterres, and reflection pools inhabited by swans are highlights of their intricate design. Rare camellias bloom in the winter, while vibrant azaleas blanket the hillside above the Mill Pond in the spring.
Coral Springs
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

For anyone who enjoys gardening or visiting gardens, Middleton is a dream come true. Acre after acre of beautiful scenery. Big enough that even if they have a lot of visitors, you aren't bumping into others. Plan to bring a good camera and comfortable shoes. If in the summer (like our visit) cool clothes, a hat and water are a must. Little kids will enjoy the open spaces.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mct3c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,686
    742
    222
    67
    34
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, MS
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lots of history, but not nearly as pretty in the summer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

The house, grounds, packets, buildings, and guides are full I great information. This was my second time there. It was gorgeous in February. Very few flowers in July. Great views, but sad gardens compared to the spring. Also, FYI, the movie "Scarlett" was filmed in part here, so see the places where Timothy Dalton, Julie Harris, Jean Smart, Annabeth Gish, and Joanne Whalley performed. They won't tell you this so you'll have to watch the movie ahead of time to know.

Helpful?
Thank cmsdrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate, just go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Wanted to visit at least one plantation during my visit and Middleton Place came highly recommended by previous visitors and residents alike.

I arrived on a Monday and was lucky enough to snag a last- minute seat on the carriage tour which offered a tour of the open grounds and a historical background on the property- very interesting.

I also bought a tour ticket for the main house and had a relaxing and delicious lunch at the restaurant. The house tour was very informative and a great add- on to the day after walking through the beautifully groomed gardens.

There is also a garden center and a very nice gift shop!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank colgalEnglewoodCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Walk through a Difficult Part of History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

The beauty of this place is undeniable! The grounds are beautifully maintained and it is ran by employees and volunteers who are clearly proud to be there.

I appreciated that we were able to show our kids such a beautiful place while also introducing them to a complicated and difficult part of our history.

The guides provided factual and I unbiased tours of the grounds.

If you have younger kids (ours are 5) the general admission, and possibly the tour of the main house, is good enough. The kids got a kick out of being able to get lost and navigate through the grounds. After touring the main house, stop by the slave cabin on the property to experience the stark contrast in realities.

Helpful?
1 Thank drcortez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

I've gone to Middleton Place several times. It's a great historic and beautiful place. In the fall they have Plantation Days. It's a great experience for kids as they get to see what a real working plantation was like and the hard work that went into taking care of animals and making your own food, clothes and cookware.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank artist0072016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middleton Place also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing