We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect walk and nature experience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Middleton Place

Middleton Place
Ranked #6 of 229 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Middleton Place is an 18th century rice plantation and National Historic Landmark comprising 65 acres of America's oldest landscaped Gardens, the Middleton Place House Museum and the Plantation Stableyards. The Gardens reflect the elegant symmetry of 17th century European design. Sculpted terraces, parterres, and reflection pools inhabited by swans are highlights of their intricate design. Rare camellias bloom in the winter, while vibrant azaleas blanket the hillside above the Mill Pond in the spring.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The perfect walk and nature experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We just returned from a walk at Middleton. Camelia are in full bloom. Just wandering the paths along the river, the swamp garden, the formal gardens....Middleton's natural beauty should not be missed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,798
    789
    230
    72
    34
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely & Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

The best thing about Middleton Place is that all the items in the house actually belonged to the Middleton's, who have a fascinating family history. Take the African American tour, which I loved because I had known nothing about the rice plantations and rice agriculture in the Southern slave states. The guides were informative adn enthusiastic. Beautiful gardens and nice sense of history, but this stop was pricey. $25 to get in, then $12 more for the house and $5 for the African American story....it adds up!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DenMark2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Absolutely gorgeous! Plan on spending some time exploring. It is truly fabulous. Try looking for the crocodille at the lake behind the house by the rice mill. I call him George...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Old south”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is a must see. Beautiful grounds and tremendous views near the river. We did a self guided but there are plenty of capable people that work there that answer just about any question. This is everything you imagine when it comes to the Old South.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best seen in the spring”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Well, let me say we visited Middleton during the dead heat of July. Apparently, in the spring the flowers are beautiful, but in July there really are not any flowers, just alot of shrubbery. We did try the restaurant and we were astonished how warmly we were welcomed. The staff treated us all like royalty. The food was simple, yet delicious, and we were all surprised that the prices were so reasonable -- no price gouging.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren C, Public Relations Manager at Middleton Place, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
It certainly gets hot at Middleton Place in the summer. But, while the azaleas and camellias may not be in bloom, something is blooming at America's Oldest Landscaped Gardens year-round, including China Roses, hydrangeas, water lilies, and tea roses. Summer is also a good time to really appreciate the vision and hard work that went into creating the formal gardens in the 1700s. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middleton Place also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing