We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bit of history for our trip”
Review of Middleton Place

Middleton Place
Ranked #6 of 238 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Middleton Place is an 18th century rice plantation and National Historic Landmark comprising 65 acres of America's oldest landscaped Gardens, the Middleton Place House Museum and the Plantation Stableyards. The Gardens reflect the elegant symmetry of 17th century European design. Sculpted terraces, parterres, and reflection pools inhabited by swans are highlights of their intricate design. Rare camellias bloom in the winter, while vibrant azaleas blanket the hillside above the Mill Pond in the spring.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice bit of history for our trip”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We went to Middleton on a Wednesday evening after hearing about the wine stroll. We also ate at the restraunt on site. Made for an enjoyable evening.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank FLBuckeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,970
    856
    252
    78
    36
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
182 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The histoty is amazing. The Middleton family were very important in both the Revolutionary War and the Civll War. The plantation is beautiful; views, garden and house. The original documents there are a "must see."

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cubsfan1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
154 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife and I took a tour of the house and plantation. The gardens are nice, but some extra signage along the route directing us would have helped. The house has VERY subdued lighting making it difficult to fully appreciate the interior. Our docent was a bit reserved and couldn't answer several questions.

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren C, Public Relations Manager at Middleton Place, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Some good tips for future signage. Thanks for your review. As for the lighting inside the House Museum, light is the enemy of antiques. It can fade paintings, furniture, and fabrics. And when you're working with objects that are well over 200 years old, you want to protect them in every way possible. For this reason, we try to keep the light low enough to avoid damaging the objects, but bright enough to see them. We think we've created a happy medium.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Excellent all around!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

It even started with the tickets. Lisabeth Brimley was bubbling with energy, smiles, and extreme friendliness. This was a great start for our visit. In the facility, all the interpretors(potter, cooper, cow milker, tanning booth) all were very knowledgable and extremly pleasant. Add the beauty of the site and it made for a wonderful day. Brad & Robbie

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adlai99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful horse trail =)”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I took my husband there for a surprise horseback ride. Joe rode "Brownie" that was very sweet, I rode “Susie”. “Susie” is a BIG Belgian Draft horse, and her personality and appetite are as big as she is. Anyway, we both enjoyed very much and the trail was beautiful. We like to thank all the staff at the Middleton Equestrian for the great time!
Sincerely,
Patricia & Joe Barreto

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren C, Public Relations Manager at Middleton Place, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for highlighting one of the hidden treasures of Charleston and Middleton Place. The Middleton Place Equestrian Center offers daily trail rides, and provides a really fun and different way to get a deeper look into the natural beauty of the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middleton Place also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing