We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting”
Review of Middleton Place

Middleton Place
Ranked #8 of 246 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Middleton Place is an 18th century rice plantation and National Historic Landmark comprising 65 acres of America's oldest landscaped Gardens, the Middleton Place House Museum and the Plantation Stableyards. The Gardens reflect the elegant symmetry of 17th century European design. Sculpted terraces, parterres, and reflection pools inhabited by swans are highlights of their intricate design. Rare camellias bloom in the winter, while vibrant azaleas blanket the hillside above the Mill Pond in the spring.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife and I took a tour of the house and plantation. The gardens are nice, but some extra signage along the route directing us would have helped. The house has VERY subdued lighting making it difficult to fully appreciate the interior. Our docent was a bit reserved and couldn't answer several questions.

Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren C, Public Relations Manager at Middleton Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Some good tips for future signage. Thanks for your review. As for the lighting inside the House Museum, light is the enemy of antiques. It can fade paintings, furniture, and fabrics. And when you're working with objects that are well over 200 years old, you want to protect them in every way possible. For this reason, we try to keep the light low enough to avoid damaging the objects, but bright enough to see them. We think we've created a happy medium.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,853 - 2,857 of 3,453 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

It even started with the tickets. Lisabeth Brimley was bubbling with energy, smiles, and extreme friendliness. This was a great start for our visit. In the facility, all the interpretors(potter, cooper, cow milker, tanning booth) all were very knowledgable and extremly pleasant. Add the beauty of the site and it made for a wonderful day. Brad & Robbie

Thank Adlai99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I took my husband there for a surprise horseback ride. Joe rode "Brownie" that was very sweet, I rode “Susie”. “Susie” is a BIG Belgian Draft horse, and her personality and appetite are as big as she is. Anyway, we both enjoyed very much and the trail was beautiful. We like to thank all the staff at the Middleton Equestrian for the great time!
Sincerely,
Patricia & Joe Barreto

Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren C, Public Relations Manager at Middleton Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for highlighting one of the hidden treasures of Charleston and Middleton Place. The Middleton Place Equestrian Center offers daily trail rides, and provides a really fun and different way to get a deeper look into the natural beauty of the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Lovely house, beautiful location. The house is not the actual plantation home, as it burned years ago. The home on display is a 'flanker' house. Still lovely. The gardens are breathtaking. Lovely ponds that are located with aligators. Allow time for lunch in the restaurant.

1  Thank fannyfrance2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren C, Public Relations Manager at Middleton Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thanks for your review. The Middleton Place House Museum is a flanker, but original to the complex and dates back to 1755. It houses objects and decorative arts that were original to the Middleton Family, with pieces dating back to colonial times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Most enjoyable tour of the plantation.The gardens, working shops, barnyard animals, excellent restaurant, view of the river and historical houses took us back in time

1  Thank LaurenFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middleton Place also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing