We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So beautiful!”
Review of Magnolia Cemetery

Magnolia Cemetery
Ranked #29 of 235 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Magnolia cemetery, a non-profit trust, is on the National Registry of Historic Places. Founded on the site of a rice plantation in 1850 during the "rural cemetery movement". It is the resting place of 6 Civil War Generals, soldiers and sailors, governors, signers of the ordinance of secession, mayors of Charleston, Lawyers, doctors and the list is endless. Open to the public seven days a week however the office is only open Monday through Friday. Open and closing times are posted as are rules and regulations at the entrance to the cemetery.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“So beautiful!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Went out to Magnolia Cemetery because I had ancestors buried out there. We found the graves which were in fairly good shape. However, the best part of the visit was the beauty of the cemetery. There are several small lakes with ducks and cranes and other water birds. Large, old oak trees with lots of Spanish moss are everywhere along with crape myrtles and many other varieties of trees. It's just very serene and peaceful.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tsalib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    108
    18
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome history!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

After seeing this cemetery listed on trip advisor, my parents and I decided to check it out. The grounds were pretty and the history amazing. The Civil War area was really cool to see. They have markings for soldiers who died in Gettysburg and were relocated. There are Generals and other historical people here. Definitely worth the trip!

The only complaint I had is that there was no map or guide or information available to tell us some information about who was in which area.

Helpful?
Thank mmems7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanahan, SC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fascinating.”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Very very interesting. Not super well maintained, and as previous reviews mention the neighborhood is not ideal, but still a very neat place.

Probably best in the fall or spring. Summer might be a little obscene, weather-wise. NO repeat NO nearby amenities.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAlester, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
124 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“seems strange to call a cemetery an attraction.”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

It does seem strange to call a cemetery an attraction but this is like a history lesson with the old tombstones and the old names you've read about in history books and novels. The Hunley crew were buried here. While we rode around we saw photographers (some with very big,expensive equipment), walkers, and families playing. Not the best neighborhood, but we felt perfectly safe here.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rdkdyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth Tracking Down!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Went to the Hunley museum in October, was not able to make it to Magnolia Cemetery, the final resting place for the 3 crews who died in the submarine. I had this on the top of my list for the Thanksgiving weekend visit to Charleston. Had been advised by our tour guide at the Hunley museum that it was a "must see." She was correct. The cemetery is full of history. Civil War markers in row upon row; first initials, last name and rank. There were obelisks, pyramids, even a baby cradle in another area. My main objective was to find the Hunley burial section and thankfully, there are signs to point you in the right direction. The cemetery is huge so you can drive through, but sometimes you need to get out and walk around.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GroovyMom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Cemetery also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Magnolia Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing