We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Inexpensive and Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charles Towne Landing State Historic Site

Charles Towne Landing State Historic Site
Ranked #26 of 226 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historic village recreating the life and times of America's early settlers.
Audubon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Visited here July, 2014 and found this to be a very interested place. We did not see everything because it was very hot but what we saw was great. There was a small museum that explained the settlement. Also, there was a little tram ride that brought us to a replica of a small boat that carried cargo up and down the east coast. We had an excellent ranger who told us about the ship. There were about 10 children, 9 and under on the ship, and you could tell that they were enjoying his talk because when he asked if they wanted to see down into the hold of the ship, they all ran to the area to look in. We did not go into the replica of what they thought was there because of the heat. The cost of minimal compared to other sites we have seen. I know others did not give it a good review but we enjoyed it and we travel all the time to various locations.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tagteacher50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    131
    32
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Historical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Beautiful self guided walking tour of the original settlement of Charleston. Great for families on a budget and in search of historical significance.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank shan91402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would not recommend”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Visited with husband and 3 young children. Very disappointed. First of all. It was 98 degrees and almost no shade at all. Then, the zoo was awful. The poor animals were sweltering in the heat. There was no water for them to cool off in or drink. They all looked sick and miserable. It was do hot we couldn't even continue for the trails. My children were not interested in anything but the animals. Probably a better experience for older children.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Educational fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We enjoyed our trip to Charles Towne landing. It is relatively inexpensive and very educational about the lives of the early settlers to Charleston. There is a wildlife experience area so you may see alligators and how the early settlers lived in the area. There is some walking involved so be prepared for the need to do this (probably 2 miles of walking involved). The building that houses the visitor's area is a beautiful, modern, architecturally designed building. It was interesting to see juxtaposed with the old homesites.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank shogsed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint George, South Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun Outdoors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have been here on field trips and I always loved it. My husband and I came and really enjoyed the day. We watched them shoot the cannons which happens every third Saturday. Very wonderful experience. The staff was very helpful and truly have an interest for the history. Most of them are actually volunteers. Definitely gonna go back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles Towne Landing State Historic Site also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charles Towne Landing State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing