We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to wear the kid(s) out!”

Charles Towne Landing State Historic Site
Ranked #20 of 232 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historic village recreating the life and times of America's early settlers.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to wear the kid(s) out!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I took my 13 month old son here before flying out, hoping to let him get some fresh air and wear him out. It worked! The animals were great, we were able to see everything, the grounds were beautiful and even though I got more out of it than he did, my son loved it too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KHMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    138
    32
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely walking scenery, history to boot!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I went to this attraction with my dog on a lazy afternoon and was so glad I did. I go every time I visit charleston now. The gardens and trees are lovely, the walking trails are calm, there are some nice scenic spots with benches, and all along the trail are history checkpoints for reading about the founding of the area. There is a menagerie with live animals as well that I have not seen. Great for families and getting out of the house for an afternoon!

Helpful?
Thank rantag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Real Bargin”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Cheap to get in 7.50 for adults, live animals, a ship, house fields lots of room for kids to run, cannons, tram, nice visitor center, very clean audio trail. A nice alternative to higher priced gardens.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goose creek, sc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Historical significance”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I am not a history buff, but you learn a lot here. The.grounds and the displays are well kept and done well. The views are gorgeous of the downtown Charleston and the waterfront. This should be one of your stops while here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gpzrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“GREAT on weekday, place is empty.”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

It was like we had our own personal golf cart ride. We had fun with the electronic dig at Visitors Center, took cart to boat for a few minutes, took cart to oak alley for some gorgeous long range pix, walked over to zoo. Best part there was watching the big cat play with his ball. Also, the otters. Show them a water bottle and they will follow it and you all over the area! (bottle fed?) Without the crowd we saw everything in about 2 hours. It was scenic and fun. And this place is Cheap. Be sure and check out the BBQ crickets in a box in the snack area!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank StewardessFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles Towne Landing State Historic Site also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charles Towne Landing State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing