We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to spend a summer evening.”

Riley Waterfront Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.00*
and up
Lost Stories of Black Charleston Walking Tour
More Info
$16.00*
and up
Evening Carriage Tour of Downtown Charleston
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Charleston Strolls Tour
Ranked #3 of 241 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bright green public space overlooking the coast: great for picnics and lounging.
manassas, va
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely place to spend a summer evening.”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a lovely park by the water. There are fountains that you are welcome to immerse yourself if you are so inclined. A nice covered pier extends out into the water with a good number of swinging benches. This was a nice place to relax, watch the dolphins in the water, and let the world go by,

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank suchagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,029
    1,353
    206
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We enjoyed walking through the Waterfront Park all 3 days of our Charleston visit. From the Ravenel bridge to the Fleet Landing restaurant to the cruise ships coming & going, to the big "porch swings" by the water, we thought it was a beautiful park!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Relax in a beautiful city”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you are tired of shopping and sightseeing, go to the Wawterfront Park. Hopefully you can find one of the large swings there and sit "a spell". Watch the water, the boats;, and sometimes a dolphine swim by.

We always make sure we visit there. You can also walk the park area and visit the fountain to cool off your feet.

You won't regret taking time for this place!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“New Orleans w/o the smell...”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was in North Charleston for a conference. My group ventured to downtown Charleston to see what the fuss was all about...The downtown area is very clean and scenic. I felt safe the entire time we were walking around and exploring. The houses are very unique and have a strong resembelence to New Orleans. I was taken back to Civil War times and could visualize the Horse-and-buggy days. The downtown market was not overly cluttered with merchants. We had a excellent dinner at Hymans. I also recommend paying the $17.00 for the tour of Ft. Sumter. It really puts things in perspective. Overall, I would highly recommend Charleston for vacation for a great family environment and seafood.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gwilli716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, antebellum Charleston.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The park, at the confluence of the Ashley & Cooper Rivers, overlookthe harbor and historic Fort Sumter. Surrounded by stately mansions, you get a flavor a a long past era.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riley Waterfront Park also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Riley Waterfront Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing