We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Gibbes Museum of Art
from $72.00
More Info
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
56
27
7
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
56
27
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful building permanent collection special exhibit contemporary works excellent collection rotating exhibits large collection furniture pieces on display meeting street well worth the visit couple of hours rainy day south carolina gift shop two hours visiting charleston
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 90 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2019 via mobile

This was a fantastic find. The staff was incredibly warm and informative. The installations provide a wide variety for all visitors to enjoy. The exhibits change out frequently, so it is now on our must-do each visit to Charleston!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank CarolineSchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasleyS, Director of Programs and Digital Engagement at Gibbes Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2019

Thank you so much for visiting the Gibbes and providing such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor! We look forward to seeing you back at the museum on your next trip to Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2019

We absolutely loved the Gibbes Museum and the great tour that was given to our group! The kids loved it and were engaged the whole time! Amazing tour guide worked wonderfully with our kids. Thank you!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasleyS, Director of Programs and Digital Engagement at Gibbes Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2019

We're so pleased to hear about your fun experience at the Gibbes with your group of young visitors! Thanks for sharing. We hope you'll come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2019

We enjoyed the different styles of art at this museum. At the time we visited there was also a special collection of art by Afro-American artists.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank 371julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasleyS, Director of Programs and Digital Engagement at Gibbes Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2019

We're so glad you visited and had the chance to view the Black Refractions exhibition featuring highlights from the Studio Museum in Harlem. The exhibition is on view at the Gibbes until August 18, 2019, and is definitely worth a trip to see. Our permanent collection includes many different offerings from Colonial to present day, and you can always find out what is on view on our website at gibbesmuseum.org. Thank you so much for sharing your experience!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2019

I grew up in Charleston and try to visit every 2 years, but I've never been to the Gibbes Museum of Art, my mistake! I was lost in another world for hours. My 16 yr old absolutely adored it...as did everyone that day. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasleyS, Director of Programs and Digital Engagement at Gibbes Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2019

Welcome home, and thanks for adding the Gibbes to your list of sights and activities during your trip! We're so glad you finally made it and that your entire group enjoyed the visit. We hope to see you again on your next time back to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019 via mobile

The museum was larger than we expected. There was an exhibit from the Harlem renaissance in the third floor that was excellent. The second floor had many local landscapes and artists that was interesting, as well. We spent about 2 hours there in all. There is also a nice bakery and coffee shop on the first level to get your second wind.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank csmith123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasleyS, Director of Programs and Digital Engagement at Gibbes Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2019

We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Gibbes. The spectacular collection from the Studio Museum in Harlem is on view at the Gibbes through August 18, 2019, and we're glad to hear you enjoyed our permanent collection on the second floor. We definitely agree that a pastry and coffee from The Daily at the Gibbes is the perfect pick-me-up! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews