We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressive”
Review of The Citadel

The Citadel
Ranked #14 of 237 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historic military college best known for its Moorish-inspired architecture.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
174 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very Impressive”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Every Friday the students do a review P-rade on the center area. The music is great, the regiment pageantry is precise and the museum has a great history of the school.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank srainone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    171
    33
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
664 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 668 helpful votes
“Well worth an hour of your time.”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were fortunate that we had picked up that at 3.45pm on a Friday, the cadets march ceremoniously. We arrived 30 minutes beforehand and were welcomed at the gate and shown where to park. There are bathroom facilities in the Canteen.
It was a great 45 minutes parade with approximately 2000 to 3000 cadets marching to their Citadel Military Band.
If you can find time in your schedule you won't regret this free attraction as it is a rare experience to see the huge number of cadets on parade. We felt fortunate to be able to experience it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
356 reviews
177 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have so much respect for the people that attend and work here. A place that promotes values that are sorely lacking at times. Aside from this, I would arrange a tour in advance for a Friday. The student guides are really helpful and enables you to get a feel for the culture of the school. I would arrange it close to the time of the drill parade (check their website for times) and stay for this. Traffic will be congested if you try to leave right away after the drill parade.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clemente71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Interesting military school campus”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was a stop on our city tour and it was quite interesting- there are traditions piled upon traditions here, from the red checked floors to the military objects scattered about. I'd like to go back to spend more time looking at things.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank VIAJERO225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Must see!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Read this was a open campus and encouraged visitors so made a visit. Glad we did. Arrived just as classes broke and was impressed with uniformed discipline as cadets moved to their next class across this beautiful campus. Visit the museum on the third floor of the library. We ran into the Director of library in the elevator and had nice chat as he escorted us to the museum. He encouraged us to return on Friday for the afternoon parade of cadets on the huge parade field in center of campus. Chapel is awesome piece of architecture as are most of the buildings on campus. Peaceful and relaxing atmosphere that made you want to whisper. Oh be careful, pedestrians have the right of way here!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Citadel also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Citadel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing