We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Citadel

The Citadel
Ranked #16 of 229 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historic military college best known for its Moorish-inspired architecture.
home
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Historic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Although we've been to Charleston many times, this was the first time we took a short driving tour through this beautiful area.

We were given a little car tour by parents of an alumni of The Citadel, the parents of our daughters boyfriend. The buildings remind you of castles and are pristine as are the grounds.

Since it was over Thanksgiving weekend, we didn't get to see any cadets, or marching but can just imagine how great it would be to visit again while the students are there and witness all their hard work and see the rituals that make this such an amazing place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    162
    32
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Historic, private military university”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Beautiful old campus with a very interesting campus bookstore and library. Don't miss the Friday afternoon muster with plenty of pageantry and a terrific band!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank travprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“First Ever "guided" tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our friend wanted a guided tour....we don't do tours usually but this one was wondeful....our guide was former marine who gave us a wonderful history of the military installations in Charleston as well as the Citadel. He was charming, informative & a true American Patriot. We were honored to meet him and learn all we did about Charleston's military history as well as the Citadel's place in history.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aikenite08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MABLETON
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cool place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were passing nearby and decided to drive by and see this famous landmark. It mostly surrounded by a wall and you cannot see much so we drove to gate to ask if we could look around. They didn't even stop us, so we spent time driving around the campus and watching the cadets move about. There is also a really interesting museum.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank chrislast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Virginia
2 reviews
“50th Class Reunion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Be sure to visit this unique campus. Fridays typically have a parade when visitors are welcomed. Try to not jump when the cannons fire. Good luck!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wallace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Citadel also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Citadel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing