We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Drove by, Museum Closed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Citadel

The Citadel
Ranked #13 of 233 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historic military college best known for its Moorish-inspired architecture.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Drove by, Museum Closed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

we drove by because Trolley doesn't get near enough to easily or safely walk. The Museum is free and we thought was open however I believe it is only open on academic days so check 1st.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank priceless_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    165
    32
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, KY
Level Contributor
186 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The Citadel is a must see.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I'm a little partial to The Citadel but this is a must see when visiting Charleston. If possible you should visit on a Friday afternoon when the Corps of Cadets conduct a parade. Another good time to visit is on the Saturday of a home football game when the Corps marches to the stadium. The campus is just a nice place to take a quiet stroll and enjoy observing the cadets as they go to class or conduct their routine activities. While on campus be sure to visit the museum, see Summerall Chapel and look at the various monuments and military equipment along campus. The Cadets are always courteous and eager to answer your questions. I always leave my visit toThe Citadel feeling patriotic and good about our country.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ElCid83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The Citadel - Impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Wow! Every time I visit, I get more impressed. Friday is the day of their parades. Check website as some days they are held on Saturday or not at all due to study. If in town, visit their lovely campus and catch a parade or Church service. Very moving, Pastor has quite the connection with these boys.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank IdoLove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friday Parade”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We attending the Friday parade to see a family member & some cadets from our local high school. The parade is impressive & nothing compares to bagpipes. We toured around the campus & enjoyed all the buildings. Cadets were on hand to answer questions. Great experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sherry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakebay, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“mini soldiers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This place was gorgeous. I was fasinated in watching the students go from one place to the other. I was just fascinated with this whole place. There were some great photo op's. They allow you to just walk around the whole place. I would love to have gotten a guided tour but did not see the opportunity for that. We were there right when they were starting back up.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Citadel also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Citadel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing