We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok you've heard it before” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halls Chophouse

Halls Chophouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Halls Chophouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: John St.
Description: Halls Chophouse is American-Fine Dining, serving prime steaks, Lowcountry and fresh seafood specialties in an energetic, visually striking environment. Complemented by signature desserts, an extensive wine list, a vibrant bar and innovative, rich decor true to old-world steakhouses, Halls Chophouse is the latest restaurant offering in the heart of Charleston's Upper King Street design and dining district. A traditional American steakhouse with superior service and a knowledgeable staff, Halls Chophouse offers a classic and comfortable dining experience that will entice our guests to visit and enjoy time after time. We offer 2 private dining rooms for groups of up to 32 guests each with audio visual capabilities.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok you've heard it before”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

No kidding best steak I've ever had. Ambiance great,staff excellent everything was perfect.if you could only go to one restaurant in Charleston this is it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,589
    351
    92
    51
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I'm not going to lie, this was probably top 5 meals I've had in the past 10 years. The service is what really sets Halls apart from the other places in Charleston. Everyone has a smiling face, is helpful and no request is too large. Be sure not to skimp on the sides and apps as everything is delicious. I am not a big red meat person and still had a magical time celebrating a birthday here!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

The fabulous meal was served by superb staff members. Expensive but very worth it for a special evening.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had a short stay in Charleston and chose this restaurant to celebrate our 40th anniversary- what a wonderful decision!

Tommy Hall greeted us warmly and led us to a lovely corner table on the upper level-what a beautifully appointed space!

We enjoyed delicious cocktails and then indulged in a delicious bowl of mussels followed by a steak and lobster dinner accompanied by creamed spinach and crispy onion rings- absolutely decadent!

Our servers, Kimberly and Jerry were very attentive and professional and made certain that our evening was perfect. Our water glasses were never empty and the wine always topped off- without any intrusion. Their recommendation for dessert was the whiskey bread pudding and we were assured that it would be delicious- not too strong on the whiskey flavoring. I can't wait to return and enjoy that dessert again- the cranberries and walnuts within the pudding provided such a wonderful texture and flavor!

We have dined in many steakhouses and often the food is very good but the decor and service are less than elegant. Hall's Chophouse deserves its five star rating- the ambiance, service and food are all exceptional!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank colgalEnglewoodCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best experience ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Halls Chophouse is an experience that is well worth having! The quality of the food is superb and you get all this in the most amazing buzzing environment. The food was excellent - the most exquisite and delicious steak I have ever had. The staff were fantastic and we felt very well looked after during the whole experience. We did not have a reservation so we were very fortunate to actually get a table - the place was packed! I am looking forward to visiting again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halls Chophouse also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Halls Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing