We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halls Chophouse

Halls Chophouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Halls Chophouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: John St.
Description: Halls Chophouse is American-Fine Dining, serving prime steaks, Lowcountry and fresh seafood specialties in an energetic, visually striking environment. Complemented by signature desserts, an extensive wine list, a vibrant bar and innovative, rich decor true to old-world steakhouses, Halls Chophouse is the latest restaurant offering in the heart of Charleston's Upper King Street design and dining district. A traditional American steakhouse with superior service and a knowledgeable staff, Halls Chophouse offers a classic and comfortable dining experience that will entice our guests to visit and enjoy time after time. We offer 2 private dining rooms for groups of up to 32 guests each with audio visual capabilities.
Irmo, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Great food, Great service. Over the top!!!
Great place for a special occasion. We had a large group for my parents 50th and helped us surprise them with this incredible dinner!!! Thank you Billy Hall!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,590
    351
    92
    51
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
696 reviews
544 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Warm, Welcoming and Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We've heard the hype over Halls Chophouse since moving to the area and finally had the opportunity to experience it first hand on Sunday for Gospal brunch. Halls lived up to every great review we ever read!
From the moment you enter the cozy and inviting restaurant, the owners and wonderful staff greet you and make you feel right at home. On Sundays, you will experience the beautiful gospal voices of Charleston's best while you dine.
Start your advernture at Halls with warm pop-overs, a wide range of well priced champagne and wine or a drink from the magnificent bar. For entrees, we enjoyed the prime eggs benedict while our friends raved about the filet mignon and eggs. Every bite was delicious.

Be sure to save room for their famous bread pudding (more like a cake) that is out of this world.

If visiting Charleston or if you live nearby - Halls is a must. Reservations are suggested but you can always sit at the bar which looked to be a lot of fun.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RMGTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Everything that you expected in a top restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

As advertised.........owners met us at the door and walked us to the bar to make sure we had a seat while waiting for our table. They constantly checked in with us throughout the meal as well. The staff was friendly and very efficient. Food was excellent. This is a true steak restaurant. Would recommend to anyone coming to Charleston.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best steak in Charleston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Our second trip to Hall's, and it was fantastic!! The service is unmatched and every item we had from the menu was incredible. The filet was so unbelievably tender, it was the best I've ever had. Our server (Zach) was very good, and I hope to have his service the next time we dine.

Helpful?
Thank Darrin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Okay Food & Jam Packed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

As much as I want to understand what makes this place one of the top rated restaurants in Charleston, I cannot. Truthfully, except for the fact that the steaks were decent, I would really struggle to understand why anyone would go at all irrespective of prices. Maybe it is a place to be seen?

We arrived on a Monday for an 8:00 P.M. reservation, but were not seated until 8:25. We were directed to the bar area which was jammed and crammed with people, tables, noise and everything else that is the opposite of relaxing. People eating at the bar tables had to put up with people right next to them and physically brushed up against the table. Not sure what is appealing about spending a lot of money to eat that way.

When finally seated upstairs; the aesthetics were not much better. Tables crammed together so tight, waiters and waitresses could barely get by and most folks had to inch sideways between the tables. In fact it did not surprise us when a waiter accidently clipped a patron in the head with the tray. He was incredibly apologetic, and there was no serious injury, but this must happen often given the logistics. As expected, in a jammed environment like this, the noise level was also very high.

The tables were also ridiculously small. The four of us (and the other tables as well) were seated at a table so small, the staff asked if they could remove the bread, otherwise the two appetizers we ordered wouldn’t fit on the table! (We did notice an additional smaller quieter dining room in the back; you might want to request it.)

The food was decent, the steak on par with Morton’s. A fried green tomato appetizer was good, but way over dressed. I like my dishes simple. The lobster mac and cheese was delicious.

We were way too stressed and felt too claustrophobic to order dessert. For this kind of money, I would think people would want a relaxing environment for fine dining, but that isn’t going to be found here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank lubbock81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halls Chophouse also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Halls Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing