We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great First Time Experience”
Review of Halls Chophouse

Halls Chophouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Halls Chophouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 926 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: John St.
Description: Halls Chophouse is American-Fine Dining, serving prime steaks, Lowcountry and fresh seafood specialties in an energetic, visually striking environment. Complemented by signature desserts, an extensive wine list, a vibrant bar and innovative, rich decor true to old-world steakhouses, Halls Chophouse is the latest restaurant offering in the heart of Charleston's Upper King Street design and dining district. A traditional American steakhouse with superior service and a knowledgeable staff, Halls Chophouse offers a classic and comfortable dining experience that will entice our guests to visit and enjoy time after time. We offer 2 private dining rooms for groups of up to 32 guests each with audio visual capabilities.
Columbus, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great First Time Experience”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

From the moment you are greeted at the door by a family member, you feel like you are part of the Hall Family. Food is excellent and the wait staff is professional and knowledgable about the menu. Huge portions. The restaurant is noisy but it is a fun atmosphere. There is always a member of the family coming by to check on you. Overall a very special night.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jtcolumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,893
    387
    100
    54
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Unique welcome and tremendous steaks”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had read about the warm welcome already on Tripadvisor and it was all as described, in spite of it being a very busy restaurant. The oysters and crab cakes were exceptional and the filet mignon one of the best we have eaten.We shared a whisky bread pudding which was original and delicious. Altogether a very special experience. We are from Scotland and on return home we received a handwritten card of appreciation which was very sweet.

We will return when next in Charleston for sure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, NC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Didn't get a chance to eat anything”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I'm soooooo dissapointed that even with a 10pm reservation at this place, we still were not seated at 10:30 so we left. I was naive to think that I would be able sit at my table soon after arriving. I think we just got lost among all the shuffle. This place at this hour was as loud as a night club. Wall to wall people so whatever they serve MUST be good because you could barely fit inside the building. They have at least two bars that I know of... downstairs and upstairs. Couldn't make it to the downstairs bar so the upstairs one had to do. The doorman at our hotel told me that this restaurant often likes to send little treats and goodies to the bellmen across town in hopes that they will send people business when people ask where they should go for dinner. Well, that tactic apparently works.
Perhaps we will try again next time we're in town. At a less frantic hour.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good steakhouse - fantastic staff”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Hall Chop House is a high-end steakhouse with great quality food at a reasonable price for the quality that you get. One of the best steakhouses that I ever visited.

Nothing too fancy about the menu and that's just how it's supposed to be for a steakhouse.

Eventhough I, as a european, was a bit lost in the only-american winelist I liked thought that was a great feature only to serve "local" wine.

The food was very good, but couldn't compare with the awesome treatment that we received from the staff and host/hosttesses. The service was amazing!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JorgenRogerBach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
“5 stars”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

First time in Charleston and we discovered this great place with the best staff ever!! Billy is an awesome host and the service is very attentive. And of course, the food was very good and tasty.

Helpful?
Thank OnePiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halls Chophouse also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Halls Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing