We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Halls Chophouse

Halls Chophouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Halls Chophouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 898 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: John St.
Description: Halls Chophouse is American-Fine Dining, serving prime steaks, Lowcountry and fresh seafood specialties in an energetic, visually striking environment. Complemented by signature desserts, an extensive wine list, a vibrant bar and innovative, rich decor true to old-world steakhouses, Halls Chophouse is the latest restaurant offering in the heart of Charleston's Upper King Street design and dining district. A traditional American steakhouse with superior service and a knowledgeable staff, Halls Chophouse offers a classic and comfortable dining experience that will entice our guests to visit and enjoy time after time. We offer 2 private dining rooms for groups of up to 32 guests each with audio visual capabilities.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
196 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Believe all of those great reviews on Trip Advisor. It's as good as billed. A chophouse as good as (or better than) any in Chicago with friendly, unpretentious service and atmosphere. And the whiskey bread pudding may be the best dessert you ever have. Expensive but worth every penny.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelerJohn48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,650
    358
    94
    51
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hacked”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Went to Halls Chophouse on great reviews--felt "hacked" by high prices and gimmickry. Don't get me wrong, this is a good restaurant, maybe even a very good restaurant, but what bothered me was a pricing and in your face marketing scheme that seemed tailor made to earn money. Okay, so a steak is $40-$60 that I can cook on the grill at home for 1/4 the price, fine, give me some mushrooms & onions to top it off--no wait that'll be an added $8. Well then, how about just some steak sauce, time out, that's $3. Oh, and when you order steak, watch out, that's a hack of meat on a platter and nothing else. Side dish anyone--creamed corn is $12, collard greens, yes, you guessed it, $12. Oh, and friendly greetings by the owner, that's much appreciated, but what would really make a meal special is to get a full plate of food for the price of the main dish. Deliver that with a smile and an owner's select wine list that doesn't have most bottles over $100 and then we're talking. Until then, save you money, get a couple of bottles of nice wine and grill at home.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heathertomatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You are missing out if you haven't eaten here!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was hands down the best steak I have ever had- anywhere. The food was amazing!!!! The service was impeccable. We will continue to go back again and again. There are a lot of really great restaurants in the Charleston area, but this one really takes the cake! If you haven't been here, you absolutely must go!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSManna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
152 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Exciting new restaurant north of Calhoun”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Top notch food, excellent service, owners on site and work the crowd, live entertainment and a young crowd.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Snooge42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service!!!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We went to Hall's for our anniversary dinner. We were immediately greeted by the owner and wished a Happy Anniversary (and my husband was thanked for serving his country). Our server, Chip, was very knowledgeable about the menu as well as the wine we chose. The oysters were delicious and our steaks were cooked to perfection. Our server surprised us with dessert for our anniversary. All of the staff was attentive and helpful. We had wonderful meal and experience. We even received a thank you note a few days later from our server!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halls Chophouse also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Halls Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing