We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cooking Class”

Charleston Cooks! Maverick Kitchen Store
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in historical downtown Charleston, we provide the space, tools and instruction with which food and wine enthusiasts can happily gather, taste and learn. With both demonstration and participation classes, beginners and experts alike delve into an array of deliciousness, from savory sauces to wonderful wines. Our hope is that our exuberance is so contagious you'll take it home and share it.
Danville, KY
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Cooking Class”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Bought several items which I had not found anywhere else. The cooking class was very enjoyable with excellent chef instructor Michelle Hammon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alicia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    204
    57
    16
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, USA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cool cooking gadgets and basics”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great store to pick up those hard to find 'gadgets' for the kitchen! They have an area where they were prepping to do a class and I wish we had scheduled time to do that in Charleston. Looked like tons of fun. In the middle of the action near the waterpark on E Bay St.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KimWN333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level 6 Contributor
777 reviews
461 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Demo cooking & lunch for only $25!!!!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a great value! The store is easy to find, the chef was delightful and we had a light lunch after she prepared it. Loved the explanation of Low Country Cuisine and the food examples that followed. We had a fried tilapia with pickles on top, a rice/pea dish and a lemon tart with a glass of wine. Retain store people could be a bit more accommodating when we asked if there was somewhere to sit before class. They sent us a long way away to a park instead of letting us sit in the back of the room. Not very southern hospitable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, MA
Level 6 Contributor
533 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Didn't Cook, Just Shopped”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My hobby is cooking and I love to wander through stores selling cooking supplies. I have been in suhc places all over the US and in Europe and the Maverick Kitchen Store is one of the best. The prices are reasonable for the quality and the staff was pleasant and helpful. We of course left with a shopping bag full of gadgets I don't need and some high end edibles. I wis I had time for one of their cooking classes.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mikeb1Falmouth_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved the class!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Last minute sign up for a cooking class with my 13 yr old daughter and so glad we did it. We both thought it was the highlight of our trip. Just like being on an episode of a cooking show and had delicious mini meal of menu with wine for just $25. Loved purchasing some of the cool gadgets used in the store after. We have been home for a couple of weeks and have cooked up all of what was cooked in the class.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank fitzbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Cooks! Maverick Kitchen Store also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing