We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre”

South Carolina Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.95*
and up
South Carolina Aquarium Admission
Ranked #30 of 232 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fun, wonder and education come together at the South Carolina Aquarium. An intimate family-fun adventure, see a rare albino American alligator; get hands-on at the Touch Tank, marvel at the sharks in the Great Ocean Tank, come face-to-face with rays in the Stingray Encounter, or take a behind-the-scenes tour of the Sea Turtle Hospital. Don’t miss our interactive dive shows and animal programs offered daily!
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
“Mediocre”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

This is not a bad aquarium, but it's definitely not worth the price that they charge to get in (25 dollars per person).

Helpful?
Thank jewell89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    647
    555
    287
    78
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great afternoon with children”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Very nice facilities for the family. Old interactive activities for children. Plan to spend at least 3 to 4 hours and not hurry through the exhibits.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must See”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Smaller aquarium than like Georgia but nice layout, staff and Volunteers are very knowledgeable and want to answer any questions that even the youngsters might ask. All the divers are volunteers and they do daily shows in the tank while answering questions from the guests. The aquarium is also very active in educating the public, it has a sea turtle hospital that you can tour for extra fee.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelingKoala2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I took our 4 kids (ages 11-18) and we all loved it. It is not as big as many other aquariums I've been to (Baltimore, Atlanta, e.g.), but houses some very interesting creatures and is very nicely laid out. The volunteers are numerous, cheerful, friendly and informative. Special thanks to Addison, who approached us and asked if we wanted to see the large (2 story) tank from the top. We took a service elevator and got a special "back room" view looking into the top of the tank that holds the sharks, Coretta, the sea turtle, and many large fish. It was very cool and memorable. Check the schedule and for the volunteer-led programs. Allow 2-3 hours to see at leisurely pace. Fun for all ages.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 6inthefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small in size”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

As we walked out of the last portion of the aquarium we were surprised that it was the last of it. Small in size but the staff were very welcoming and it was clean. We really enjoyed the lemur exhibit as well as the outdoor marsh area. The flow of the aquarium could be better but we were able to navigate through efficiently.... while sometimes being puzzled about which way was next! Would recommend seeing it.... Right next to the Fort Sumter ferry.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tstewart71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Carolina Aquarium also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to South Carolina Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing