We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Carolina Aquarium

South Carolina Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.95*
and up
South Carolina Aquarium Admission
Ranked #30 of 229 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fun, wonder and education come together at the South Carolina Aquarium. An intimate family-fun adventure, see a rare albino American alligator; get hands-on at the Touch Tank, marvel at the sharks in the Great Ocean Tank, come face-to-face with rays in the Stingray Encounter, or take a behind-the-scenes tour of the Sea Turtle Hospital. Don’t miss our interactive dive shows and animal programs offered daily!
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We visited this aquarium while in Charleston, although it is geared towards children it was a delightful place to visit. The staff members were very friendly and helpful, it is smaller than some that I have visited elsewhere but still a neat place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingG65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    542
    280
    76
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful aquarium”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

It's a nice please for to enjoy a summer afternoon ...they have many different species.. You can learn a lot for the videos and interactive system of this aquarium..the tickets are little expensive but you are gonna love it...and you will learn about not just south carolina also north carolina...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Grandchildren loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our grandchildren ages 5 and 2 1/2 loved it! The Aquarium is located right on waterside in downtown Charleston, beautiful views. There were many different areas that are also interactive for the kids such as feeding the stingrays, supervised hand 's on "touching" and feeling different things such as an alligator! "play areas" inside to amuse the children.

Our son lives in Charleston and this was the first time we had the opportunity to visit the Aquarium while visiting our family. They hold a membership there and it is a frequent weekend family trip with the kids to enjoy! Don't know pricing without a membership. As adults, we enjoyed it also. It was difficult to get the kids out of there though as after 2 hours they were not ready to leave.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
157 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great exhibits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just like exploring our state on foot, this place has exhibits of all the different types of marine life found from up country to low country. The otters are the first exhibit to see and make sure the little ones have plenty of time here.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LynnBurnett81151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randleman, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Aquarium and Turtle Hospital”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The aquarium is on the expensive side but probably in line with others. I probably wouldn't visit it every trip. My 10 year old enjoyed it. She liked the educational activities. Our favorite part was visiting the Sea Turtle Hospital. You pay a little extra per person to go down and see the sick and injured turtles being taken care of. Tours were at 12 and 2. It was great. We even got to see them feed a couple.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CSFamily98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Carolina Aquarium also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to South Carolina Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing