We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch”
Review of Caviar & Bananas

Caviar & Bananas
Ranked #96 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brunch”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I had one of the best breakfast/brunch meals I've ever had this morning at Caviar and Bananas. The buttermilk chicken biscuit is devine. The biscuit melts in your mouth, the fried chicken is crunchy and the Tasso gravy is rich and addictive. I had the jalapeño grits (suggested by the guy who took our order). The grits were thick and creamy, and just the right amount of heat. I will definitely be back here next time I'm in Charleston!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank roachm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    144
    25
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charleston Standout”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I wouldn't mention this if it wasn't truly worthy of the praise.. IT IS! Always hot in Charleston during summer and we're always burning sorely needed calories and this is the place to replenish. I've not experienced a better tasting sandwich, picked the ingredients myself! There may be a fresher coffee bean or healthier deli selection somewhere, but not in the generally deep-fried, mayonnaisse-garnished southeast culture. Be fulfilled any time of morning or day, and it's an easy walk or rickshaw ride from King Street or the market. Favorite Lunch spot, period!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMeierPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great spot for a quick lunch.”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had two kids in tow on a hot Charleston day. We were looking for some good eats without the fuss or wait. This place came highly recommended on Tripadvisor so we checked it out. So glad we did! It is a gourmet grocery / cafe. Really urban and fun. They have all kinds of sandwiches, salads, sushi, breakfast and brunch items. My husband had a sushi roll and I had a salad. Both were very tasty. The prices were quite reasonable for the quality and quantity. The roll and salad were quite large and satisfying. The location is great. Very close to King Street. We'll definitely return next time we are in Charleston.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AKMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“High End Sandwiches at Great Prices”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The sandwiches at this local hot spot taste great. You can select any of the great options on the menu or build your own. They offered salads too, but we didn't try any. I can best describe Caviar and Bananas as a high end Panera. If you want a good lunch in this town without hurting your wallet, swing by this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank coldcalifornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved the sandwiches here!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I highly recommend the sandwiches at this location. The sandwiches are gourmet, but the prices are very reasonable. There is a very wide selection of items to choose from (e.g., many different types of dessert, sandwiches, salad, and drinks). Very friendly service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caviar & Bananas also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Caviar & Bananas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing