We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Latin & Light” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist

Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist
Ranked #6 of 226 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Hilton Head Island
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Latin & Light”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Latin mass was a return to the Sundays of our childhood and made all the more magical by an outstanding organist and choir. Recent renovations and refurbishment easily make this one of the most beautiful churches you can visit in this area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RufusTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    127
    23
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“For architecture lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Based on other travelers' reviews, I knew this was a place I wanted to go on my self-guided photography tour of historic Charleston. The outside architecture drew my interest, but I was disappointed to enter the foyer only to see that a wedding party was taking photos in the sanctuary. The glimpse I caught of the interior lived up to my expectations, but unfortunately, I did not have a chance to return to see it in more detail.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
225 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“beautiful stained glass”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We saw this church on our carriage ride and made a point to walk back to it to see all of the gorgeous lead lights (stained glass). The organ was playing as we admired all of the beauty inside of the cathedral. Beautiful place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MartyParty4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge,Louisiana
Level Contributor
374 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Directly across from Governor House Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Though we did not have time to visit the interior of this church it was certainly a beautiful view from our inn and certainly one of the many beautiful churches and steeples in the Holy City of Charleston! Charleston has so many beautiful churches that we could not visit all but will visit this one on next visit. The Cathedral of St John the Baptist in Savannah we did visit and it was beautiful inside and out as we know this one is by the interior photos we have seen. Great city for church architecture and worship!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank scot1ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Nothing to dislike. Beautiful stain glass and the alter is gorgeous. Try to attend mass. A great historical and spiritual experience .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing