We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sunset sail”
Review of The Schooner Pride

The Schooner Pride
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Schooner Pride is an authentic replica of the 18th century tall ships that once dotted the Charleston Harbor carrying supplies and passengers to and from the plantations. She is USCG certified for up to 49 passengers and is the only 3 mast tall ship that offers public sails in Charleston Harbor. You can sit back and enjoy the the views and gentle ocean breeze or get involved with trimming the sails. We are not a narrated tour, but are happy to answer questions and point out interesting landmarks! Daily afternoon and sunset sails are available March - Early November. Special group sails and private charters available year round!
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful sunset sail”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have done the Schooner Pride's sunset sail twice now and both times were so enjoyable. Sailing out on the harbor with the sun setting behind Charleston's skyline of church steeples is truly an amazing experience. Both times we went were in October and the weather was perfection, it is a great way to wind down after a day of walking around the city. My husband and I both said that if we lived in Charleston the Sunset sail would be a weekly occurrence.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AWM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    67
    24
    10
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Springfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Weather was perfect”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We did not want another "talking head" history tour. We love the history and enjoyed it but we wanted to experience the harbor, weather and discuss sailing. This was perfect. The captain and ship mates were willing to discuss not only the history but many of their experiences. The wind was not good for sailing but still enjoyed the evening. Called that morning and made the reservation.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ssccmccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunset Sail”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Everything was just as described online. What it is: peaceful, scenic, and enjoyable. What it is not: a narrated tour, nor suitable for children. Have a beverage, enjoy the sights, make a new friend or two. It's a great 2-hours of relaxation after a busy day of shopping and sight-seeing!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carrieonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We sailed on the Schooner Pride while visiting Charleston, it was a very relaxing ride and the views of Charleston were amazing. If you're looking for a lot of historical information this is not the boat ride to take, the crew will answer any questions you have but they tell you right up front that they are not there to narrate the trip. The crew is very attentive and they do ask the passengers who want to interact with hoisting the sails.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingG65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful sunset in the Charleston Bay”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband surprised me with a sunset cruise on the Schooner Pride and to top it off, the cruise had a wine tasting that evening. It was a beautiful evening on the bay and the crew was very friendly and informative. This was not a narrative trip but they were very happy to answer any questions you had. It was extremely relaxing and we enjoyed watching the dolphins swimming along side the boat. I would highly recommend this to any couple looking to enjoy a beautiful evening together in a non-traditional setting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Schooner Pride also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Schooner Pride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing