We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable”

Charleston Harbor Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.50*
and up
Charleston Harbor of History Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Come aboard the Carolina Belle for a 90-minute, live narrated, harbor history tour on the beautiful Charleston Harbor. See the "holy city" from a new perspective and take in over 300 years of history that has shaped the Charleston we know today. Tours daily 11:30, 1:30, and 3:30. 9:30 and 6 pm tours in peak season. See website for full schedule. We also offer Charleston's best combination tours. Season Mid February through November. Closed December and January.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Woodstock, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We booked this harbour tour as part of a combo package with a carriage tour of Charleston.
We walked from the carriage tour location to the harbour which was about one mile. The boat tour was very informative, so much history to hear about and see. This tour was 90 minutes long and we sat at the bow of the boat on the outside. The weather wasn't so great, but there was plenty of seating inside as well. There were even a couple of dolphins escorting us for a while.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Runfitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,342
    494
    136
    29
    33
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A 1.5 hour tour and well worth it”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

There are 2 companies that do harbor cruises my choice was Charleston Harbor Tours, and I am happy it was. The free parking and lots of it. Ticketing was easy and asked for and got a AAA discount. The Carolina Belle looks a bit old but she is in good shape. The crew nice and even tells a few jokes. You will see the Battery, old fort sites, Sumter, Dolphins, the Yorktown and many other sites as well as the history of the area. The ship did set sail on a 1.5-hour tour and did return with a ship full of happy people.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank fatkoalabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Time not well spent”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Tour was 1 1/2 hrs. long, which basically was 1 hour longer than needed. The highlight was watching the dolphins jump! Though the narrator was knowledgeable, all the information was overwhelming as it never stopped. Tour was out too far in the water to see anything close to the shore. Dress warm as the temperature drops a lot out in the water.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Duker6278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“History on the water”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A great way to see Charleston from a different view. Learned a ton of history while seeing amazing sights. Easy to get to, lots of parking and great crew

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“New look at Charleston.”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Average tour boat cruise any where.Boat stayed out to far to see anything. Captain was very knowledgeable about area.Sitting on deck or indoor downstairs.Indoor offered better views in all directions.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkyochum, Director of Sales at Charleston Harbor Tours, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you very much for joining us aboard the Carolina Belle for a Charleston Harbor Tour. I am sorry that you thought the trip was average and that you weren't able to see much aboard the tour. We do have to stay in deeper water due to the draft of our vessel and at certain tides we can't get as close as we would like to certain sites, but all in all, you won't get a better vantage point from the water on any other tour vessel. We get quite close to the Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge as well as Fort's Sumter and Moultrie, Castle Pinckney and the Yorktown among other sites. Thanks again for your time and your review and we'll hope to see you another time.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Harbor Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Harbor Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing