We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveler rating
442
70
24
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
442
70
24
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jefferson suite declaration of independence magnolia room other guests private porch broad street barbados room breakfast and afternoon tea third floor southern hospitality the main house bed and breakfast off street parking quiche b bs public rooms breakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 551 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2018

Besides the beautifully furnished rooms, the delicious breakfasts and the unbeatable location, it is the people that bring us back to the Governor's House when we visit Charleston. From the owner on down, the staff is dedicated to exceeding your expectations on every level. When you stay there, be sure to meet 'Q'! She usually starts her day in the kitchen, preparing a delicious breakfast for you and then moves on to tidy up your room for your enjoyment. She endeared herself to us with her outgoing personality, her infectious positive attitude and sincere interest in us and our well-being. An unexpected highlight of the trip!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank langwooddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelingGuy1977, Owner at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2018

Thank you for staying with us at the Governor's House Inn. We are ecstatic that you want to continue to come back to Charleston and stay with us for each visit. We really are dedicated to meeting and exceeding your expectations and we thank you for recognizing how important it is that we do everything we can to make your time here special.

You are indeed intuitive to pick up on how important Q is to us here. The longer she is with us the more we realize just how special she is to our success. She is not only hard working, but a true gem of a personality as we find more and more of our guests love getting to know her.

In honor of Q and the James Bond series we've discussed going to initials only for identifying each other by name at the Inn. As of this moment Q seems to be the only one able to pull it off successfully. When you visit next you'll have to see for yourself if it is a policy that sticks. Until then thanks for visiting with us and we look forward to seeing you again - soon!

K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2018

The location, Inn and staff are excellent. Convenient to all downtown, quaint and surprisingly quiet considering the downtown location. The staff is exceptional and the breakfast is a treat in itself. I wish they cooked lunch and dinner!!

Room tip: Upstairs room in kitchen building is a true get away space.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kenmaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelingGuy1977, Owner at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2018

Thank you for staying with us here at the Governor's House Inn. We are so glad you were able to enjoy and appreciate everything you experienced here at the Inn. Please come see us again - soon.

Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2018

The Governor's House Inn is a beautiful B&B with friendly and helpful staff. The location is perfect for walking this lovely city. The rooms are good size and clean. Breakfast was yummy and could be eaten on the porch or in the dinning room. A plus to have parking on grounds. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelingGuy1977, Owner at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us at the Governor’s House Inn. Thank you for taking the time to write Trip Adviser to let other prospective guests know how we operate and what they may expect . Come back again and see us soon.
Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2018

The Inn is absolutely wonderful. We rented out the entire Inn for our daughter's wedding weekend. We loved all the sitting rooms, and especially the porches. The staff went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect. We were able to enjoy the wonderful breakfasts on either the porch or the spectacular dinning room. Bryan and his staff contributed to the over all experience of our magical weekend. The bride was so relaxed, happy, and content staying and getting ready at the Inn.
We live in the Charleston area, but were so thrilled we had the chance to stay at The Governor's Inn. We highly recommend this wonderful experience.

Room tip: The bride was in the Rutledge Suite, we were in the Middleton ...both have access to upper level balconies.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelingGuy1977, Owner at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2018

Thank you for choosing to experience such an auspicious event at the Governor's House Inn. We are so glad the weekend ended up being everything you wanted for your daughter and family. We work very hard to make guests' visits special and we love to hear when our work is appreciated. Please come visit us again soon.

Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2018

We did enjoy our 3 night stay at this B&B, very nice, friendly staff. The breakfast were all very good, felt they could have offered a bit more for the price we paid! Our room was very nice, although a bit smaller than we had anticipated through the website description.They do come in daily to make up bed/replace towels. We had to ask for our bath towels to be replaced on second day, then we still did not get clean towels on the third day! It was quiet, and enjoyed location of this B&B within walking distance of lots of things to do. For anyone with walking issues, beware there are steps up to B&B and also steps down for those rooms on bottom floor.! We loved the history about this B&B, but also felt we paid for it too, rooms seem a bit pricey to us!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelingGuy1977, Owner at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2018

Thank you for coming to visit us at the Governor's House Inn. I'm glad you enjoyed your 3 night stay and appreciated our staff, the location of the Inn, its history and all of our amenities in the way of afternoon wine hour, free parking and the like. Out of the hundreds of hotels and B&B's in Charleston there are only two places where visitors can stay in the Historic District that is South of Broad. We are one of those two places and with only 11 rooms to choose from, space is limited and at times optimal. Please know that pricing at the Inn reflects pricing in Charleston, the peak season for which you visited, our location and that the Inn has extremely limited space on weekends and during peak seasons.

You mentioned in your comments that you might have wanted more breakfast. We think our portion size for each of our featured meals is appropriate, but also realize that some folks like a bit more and as such we are happy to accommodate. For any guests who care for more food for breakfast, we are more than happy to provide more food than is plated - we simply need to be informed. Like most of American we have become very conscious of waste, over use of land fills and the need for recycling. We want to do our part for the environment, so we recycle, try to limit waste and do what we can to respect our natural resources.

One of the easiest ways to prevent waste is to wash linens and towels only when necessary. In every bathroom next to all towels at the Inn is a sign that reads: "TURN YOUR TOWELS GREEN. By reusing your towels you help save water and energy, which is good for the planet. Please hang up your towels to reuse them the next day. Or, if you prefer fresh towels, simply leave your previous set on the floor and we'll replace them. Thank you. The Governor's House Inn." I've spoken with our housekeeping and they informed me that as a guest you hung up your towels every day, so they followed our protocol to not replace and change the towels. When you informed our cleaning staff that you had not read the sign and wanted fresh towels they immediately provided them to you as they should. That may be where the disconnect occurred during your stay relating to towels and I apologize for any confusion.

All guests should know that we come into each room daily to make up beds, clean and replace towels. If prospective guests have any questions about our rooms, each room may be seen on our website. Obviously what someone views in a picture may not equate to what that person imagines in their own mind, so if anyone has questions please feel free to call and speak with us here at the Inn. We have friendly staff who will do everything possible to answer any questions, or do whatever necessary to make your stay more comfortable. All you need do is ask.

Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews