We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveler rating
442
70
24
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
442
70
24
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jefferson suite declaration of independence magnolia room other guests private porch broad street barbados room breakfast and afternoon tea third floor southern hospitality the main house bed and breakfast off street parking quiche b bs public rooms breakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 551 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2017

We’ve spent many enjoyable days and nights in Charleston since misspending our youth there years ago, but we’d never stayed at the Governor’s House for some reason. Our recent visit there will most certainly not be our last! The house is truly historic (C. 1700s) and is located on Broad Street near the famous Four Corners of Law and walking distance (like most places in Charleston) from The Battery and other historic settings. The evening wine and cheese and the lovely breakfast were icing on the cake. Our room on the second floor had access (via floor to ceiling windows!) to a lovely piazza (that’s Charleston for “veranda”) and a beautiful king-sized four poster rice bed. All in all, a wonderful experience that we’d recommend to first-time visitors or returnees like us.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank LaurinBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelingGuy1977, Owner at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2017

We are so glad you were able to visit us and enjoy all that we have to offer at the Governor's House Inn. You are correct that we are as centrally located to so many of the great places there are to see in Charleston. We continue to update and take care of whatever there is to make this place the special residence it is for all of our guests. Please come back soon!

Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2017 via mobile

Our youngest child got married this past Spring around the time of our 40th Wedding Anniversary. Because we were so busy we “floated” our getaway till this December. We coming from FL wanted to do this first visit to Charleston the best way which to me meant a good stay at an old romantic historical yet beautiful quaint B&B! And that’s exactly what we got! Other adjectives I’d add was quiet, clean, lovely, and large! There were lots of living areas to just rest and relax. But if you wanted to be a bit more social there were scheduled social times over breakfast every morning and wine and hor d’oeuvers in the late afternoons! All their foods are homemade and delicious! This place is just gorgeous and inviting! The best part is it’s close to art galleries, churches, boutiques, antiques, restaurants, and coffee shops within walking distance! We used the parking garage for easy access to the Belmond Hotel eatery’s and shopping there or the City Market for fun finds! We stayed here one week and ate at Hyman’s Seafood 3 times it was so good! We celebrated our 40th Anniv. at the Charleston Grill Rest. at the Belmond Hotel! Their food was delicious, service impeccable, and atmosphere beautiful! The lobby has a 12 foot chandelier, Christmas Trees, and running railroad track! We took the City Tour on the Grayline Mini bus. And we drove out to beautiful Folly Beach and Middleton Plantation! The Inn Keepers of this gorgeous B&B really demonstrated that good old southern charm and hospitality this area is known for! They always aimed to please and accommodate us in any way possible! I highly recommend staying here to be close to everything yet in a very quiet cozy atmosphere! We got lots of rest and relaxation in our downstairs suite complete with shower and a jacuzzi tub! Anyone would be thrilled to stay in this wonderful establishment!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kitty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelingGuy1977, Owner at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

Thank you for allowing us to participate in this special event with you. We love it when visitors get to see Charleston and appreciate it for all its many splendors. The fact that you were here during the Christmas season makes the trip even more exciting.
We look forward to your next visit here at the Governor’s House Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2017

My husband and I along with our best friends took our first trip to Charleston for Thanksgiving. We arrived early and were welcomed by Jodi. She was very helpful in suggesting restaurants and things we should see. The decorations and furnishing gave you the feeling you were back in time as Jodi conducted a tour giving us the history of each room. We were definitely impressed with the friendliness and professionalism of the staff over the course of our stay. Bryan, the manager, was very friendly and helpful. One of our highlights of a rainy evening was sitting with him listening to very interesting stories about Charleston. We enjoyed the afternoon tea/cocktail hour as well as the delicious breakfast served each morning. The Inn is within walking distance of Charleston sights, shopping and restaurants. We would absolutely recommend this as a place to stay while vising Charleston.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capecodder653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelingGuy1977, Owner at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

Thank you for coming to the Governor’s House Inn. We love hearing from our guests. There is no doubt that we are the custodians of a very special home. The fact that our guests can appreciate its uniqueness makes the entire experience even more satisfying.
We hope that you can come visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2017

A beautiful bed and breakfast, near all Charleston locations. Well kept, great amenities- (breakfast and wine hour), knowledgeable staff who gave great recommendations for must see locations. Easy walking distance to attractions and the free CARTA bus. The history of the house was cool, and the interior was a feast for the eyes with tall ceilings and grand moldings. If you are coming to Charleston, you must stay here! You won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelingGuy1977, Owner at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2017

Thank you for visiting us here at the Governors House Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to let other know of your experience and impressions of the Inn. All of our staff work very hard to make every guest feel comfortable. We want you to see Charleston for the beautiful city that it is. Come back and see us soon.

Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2017 via mobile

A proud old house, very historic, with great curb appeal. But that is pretty much where it ends. Skeleton staffing, basement rooms without any natural light, a poor service ethic, and marginal breakfasts make this a forgettable destination. All of this despite a top shelf price. Truly a big letdown for both couples after so much anticipation. There are many places to stay in Charleston, most at a lower rate than Governor’s House. Better to check them out and fully enjoy your trip to Charleston, which is a magical place.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
6  Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelingGuy1977, Owner at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017

I'm sorry we were not able to make your stay more pleasurable. I was very concerned about your comments, so I made it a point to do some research. After checking work schedules I was able to confirm that we were fully staffed the entire time you were visiting us here at the Inn. As a B&B we do not keep 24 hour services available to guests and our Concierge is released after 9 pm every evening. That may have caused some confusion about staffing. As for the natural lighting in your room I reviewed your reservation and determined that you spent one of your evenings in the Orange Grove Room. This spacious room has recently been renovated and is equipped with a large screen television, refrigerator and a full bath that includes hot tub. Guests may view pictures of the room on our website. It is located in the lower level of the house. Many of our guests prefer this room as they have more privacy from the rest of the house and there are no stairs to maneuver. Like so many things in life it is a personal choice. There are windows in the Orange Grove Room that allow natural light to come into the room. Guests simply need to manipulate the blinds to let in the light. Admittedly the room is on the ground floor, so some guests may be hesitant to open the blinds fully to the natural light. That may be what caused some problem. I'm sorry you seemed less than pleased as well with your breakfast. Each day we serve a full breakfast. If a guest has any issues with what is being served they merely need to let us know and we will do whatever necessary to immediately make them happy. I've spoken with the staff who served breakfasts while you visited and I was told that you had no issues nor did you take exception with anything served. That is a shame as we always want to do whatever possible to make a guest's visit more pleasant. Which brings us to the last issue you mentioned regarding service ethic. It is my understanding that your stay was frustrated in that you wanted to present a gift certificate for payment that we were unwilling to accept. As you may know we tried to contact you prior to your visit to inform you that we could not accept the certificate as it expired a year and a half ago. All of our certificates have a one year time limit. The certificate was purchased from a prior owner of the Inn in 2015 and as current owners we received no compensation from the certificate. We are a completely separate company. Hopefully you recall that we apologized for the inconvenience and tried to make amends by giving a discounted room rate, but that obviously did not seem to allow you to be satisfied. We're very sorry. As much as we try to please every guest we are simply not able to accommodate guests for free, or where we lose money. We have to pay our staff, food vendors, building maintenance, banks, etc and most guests appreciate the situation. I'm sorry this was seen as poor service ethic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews