We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location, friendly staff, and luxurious accommodations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Governor's House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Governor's House Inn
Ranked #8 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, and luxurious accommodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for my birthday and were made to feel welcome from the moment we stepped in. All of the staff were friendly and asked daily about our activities and plans. They went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. We stayed in the Barabados Room and I highly recommend this room because of its comfortable accommodations and the private outside porch just outside your door. The breakfast was also very good and filling, served with your choice of juices, coffee, and teas. They also have a wonderful tea and wine time in the afternoon, and serve several savories and sweets. The location is also wonderful, being on Broad street, so that you have easy access to the residential district and the shopping district. All in all, an excellent stay and we will be back!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lolasmama11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    57
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
32
282
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge,Louisiana
Level Contributor
373 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I recently returned to Charleston after six years and had chosen Governor House as a great central location on Broad Street. What a great place to stay. This is such a well maintained historic house that I would chose it again for our next visit. This house is most famous as the the house of Edward Rutledge the youngest signer of the Declaration of Independence and brother of John Rutledge of the Constitution Convention and signer of the final document which he helped write and first governor of South Carolina. The house is so beautiful and quite a treat to see and learn more of its history and that of Charleston and America. The breakfasts were outstanding as were the afternoon wine and snack times. The staff was very courteous, accommodating and helpful with directions and restaurant reservations. We chose the Orange Grove Room in the lower level both for it spaciousness, location with private entrance and access to parking for bringing in luggage. The room was beautifully furnished, comfortable and the bath was large and great for bath and shower. We would without question recommend the Governor House for your stay and for our next visit!!! Enjoy!!! Say hello to New the cat as he greats all guests!!!

Room Tip: If you bring in purchases as we do then the Orange Grove or Barbados Room(Terrace Level) or Kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scot1ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I can't say enough about this beautifully, charming Inn. Every member of the staff went out of their way to not only answer questions like "do you have the number for a pedi-cab?" but actually calling them for you, "where can I get some ice for the room?" and actually getting it for you! I called to let them know of a flower delivery for the room, Christa asked if it was a special occasion and offered champagne. When I stated we prefer wine she inquired as to the kind we like and upon our arrival we found the flowers, wine, glasses, corkscrew and bottle stopper arranged on a beautiful silver tray! The room was neat, spotless. Even though we were right below the kitchen there was very little noise from the staff above preparing breakfast.
And I would be remiss if I did not mention their best ambassador Nu the cat who greeted us upon our arrival to the parking area; he is quite the snuggle bug!
We will definitely be returning to Charleston.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CindySue829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

A beautiful and characterful residence, full of history, antiques and paintings. Lovely bedroom, with comfy bed. Good location, ten minutes walk from town. Tasty breakfasts served around a large table - a great way to meet other guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatherfigure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

What a great place! My husband and I truly enjoyed ourselves and would stay here again.
The staff was GREAT! Crystal greeted us every morning during our stay. She told us about the history of the house and Charleston. Truly a great place to stay. Breakfast was great as well. Our last day we had creme brûlée French toast. What a send off! The room was nicely furnished and the bathroom huge!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trunklines14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I had a relaxing stay at the Governor's House Inn. We had a room on the top floor and found it to be very clean and cozy. If you stay in this room, you must be able to climb stairs to the third floor. The staff was very helpful on what to do and where to eat. They even made reservations for us for dinner. The afternoon tea hour was delightful. Location is wonderful. We walked to most of the things we wanted to do. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lighthousefan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Governor's House is a beautiful old Inn. Everything was very high quality here, from the bed linens to the staff. I stayed in a basement room which exited to the back courtyard. The room was beautiful and big and decorated nicely - updated. The bath had a soaker tub as well. The day we left I noticed bikes that they let you borrow. The located is very close to the battery & bay.

Helpful?
2 Thank Galadina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,615 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,595 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,947 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Governor's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Governor's House Inn

Property: The Governor's House Inn
Address: 117 Broad St, Charleston, SC 29401-2435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Governor's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor's House Inn offers the rare pleasures, aristocratic comforts and romantic grandeur of a pre-revolutionary National Landmark. With magnificent drawing rooms, boudoir staterooms, and expansive veranda porches, it is no wonder that the former Governor's mansion was proclaimed the most glamorous of Charleston inns by Travel Holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Governor's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s House Hotel Charleston
Governors Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing