We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful and charmning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Governor's House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Governor's House Inn
Ranked #7 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful and charmning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I had a relaxing stay at the Governor's House Inn. We had a room on the top floor and found it to be very clean and cozy. If you stay in this room, you must be able to climb stairs to the third floor. The staff was very helpful on what to do and where to eat. They even made reservations for us for dinner. The afternoon tea hour was delightful. Location is wonderful. We walked to most of the things we wanted to do. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lighthousefan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    51
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
264
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Governor's House is a beautiful old Inn. Everything was very high quality here, from the bed linens to the staff. I stayed in a basement room which exited to the back courtyard. The room was beautiful and big and decorated nicely - updated. The bath had a soaker tub as well. The day we left I noticed bikes that they let you borrow. The located is very close to the battery & bay.

Helpful?
2 Thank Galadina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easton md
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband and I recently had a wonderful stay in a real treasure of a place. The Governor's House Inn, in downtown Charleston, provided us with a luxurious stay in an elegant home atmosphere. This beautifully maintained historic property was the perfect backdrop for visiting Old Town Charleston, located within walking distance of the best restaurants and sights in the city. The Inn provided excellent service, very comfortable accommodations, and even provided a beautiful afternoon tea hour. When you visit Charleston or if you just want a weekend get-away, you will find this a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 282gus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The location is amazing...the house is beautiful (the main floor anyways), and the staff were friendly, but that is about all I can say. The room was outdated, and by outdated, I mean 1980's decor, not historically preserved or renovated to look historic, and it smelled like a no-tell motel. The staff were all college kids, which is okay, but it seemed like more of a hotel stay than a bed and breakfast. It was definitely lacking the personal touches that you expect with a B&B. The breakfast was okay, I but not great. I can say, sitting out on the porch was wonderful. Again, the location was fantastic, so if you are looking to be close to everything, this is your place, but if you want to spend any time at all in your room, do yourself a favor and pick somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alisha29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGHI, Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
So sorry you had these issues. We do have a few young adults on staff but many are age 40 and over, all of whom are well trained, very polite and mature. All of our rooms have been renovated and maintained. I apologize the décor was not to your liking. Should any potential guest want to see their room prior to arrival please view it on our website as the pictures are current and accurate, each room is different and unique and considered very tasteful. Our breakfast we work very hard at and try to get as much feed back as possible. We only serve items that most folks enjoy. I certainly wish you would have let us know of your dissatisfaction so as we may have corrected it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

All the staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Within walking distance to all of the historic district. Afternoon tea was served along with wine, cheese/crackers, a bundt cake and homemade candy. Breakfast was served to you at the dining room table or we choose the outdoor side porch. Several times the waitress/cook would ask if you wanted refills of anything. Each morning the entree was different along with juice and fruit.
Our room was on the main level, queen bed, very clean and roomy, bath with shower. WIFI connection worked well in our room. Even thou we were on the main level it was very quiet.
I would not hesitate to recommend this Inn to friends planning on visiting Charleston

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanibelusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del rey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

When we booked this B&B knowing it was a Select Registry pick and the cost we thought we would be staying at an outstanding B&B. The pros are that it is in a great location and the home is beautifully decorated and has much history attached. However, the cons are that one half of a B&B is the breakfast and that had a lot to be desired. There wasn't much effort or originality put into it. Same fruit cup all three days. Scrambled eggs with two sausages (you could get that at any coffee shop). A blueberry strata and a ham and cheese casserole. Definitely portion control! Two young students met us upon our arrival in the afternoon. They were also in charge of the afternoon tea. OK that's fine but never did meet the owner all three days of our stay. Felt more of a hotel and not staying at someone's home. We were told upon checkout it had recently changed hands and encouraged us to write a review. This place needs some tender loving care (a fresh coat of paint would help). And New, the cat, we miss you !

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Glendene Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGHI, Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
So sorry for you issues. I did contact this guest upon viewing this review and spoke with them about their breakfast portions. Along with the eggs and sausage there were hash browns a home baked muffin as well as fruit on the plate. We do fill the plates for our guests so they will not leave the table hungry. I apologize if you did not feel there was enough food to satisfy you. I do ask staff serving breakfast to always check with the guest to see if they're happy with their dish and if not we can always prepare something else. I hope they did so for you. The owners are here often but do have another home and immediate family out of state so they are not on property at all times. They are however in constant communication with management and care greatly for their inn. All staff however, (even the young adults) are kind and polite, help with any dinner arrangements, transportation, directions, amenities for your room and the list goes on. Young adults yes, but much of the staff are age 40+. Thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We just returned from a fabulous weekend at the Governor's House Inn in Charleston! My mother was recently married at the Inn and our families all had a the pleasure of staying there for the weekend. I can not say enough good things about this place - from the staff to the food, every detail was taken care of and perfected.

You truly feel at home yet pampered at the same time. Each room is uniquely decorated. My husband and I stayed in the Barbados Room on the bottom level of the main house. It was fabulous, comfortable and allowed us to enjoy a semi-private porch with a breezeway.

We held the wedding ceremony and small reception for the wedding on the upstairs porch. It was the perfect location and the team at the Governor's House assisted with all of the details to ensure it was the perfect day.

The breakfast served daily was delicious and always different! Wonderful selection and service. I don't think I will ever stay in a regular hotel in downtown Charleston again after enjoying the inn. The porch alone is worth it!

Wonderful all the way around! Looking forward to many more fun weekends here!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cyost1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,477 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#5 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,778 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#3 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Planters Inn
#9 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Governor's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Governor's House Inn

Property: The Governor's House Inn
Address: 117 Broad St, Charleston, SC 29401-2435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Governor's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor's House Inn offers the rare pleasures, aristocratic comforts and romantic grandeur of a pre-revolutionary National Landmark. With magnificent drawing rooms, boudoir staterooms, and expansive veranda porches, it is no wonder that the former Governor's mansion was proclaimed the most glamorous of Charleston inns by Travel Holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Governor's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s House Hotel Charleston
Governors Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing