We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Governor's House Inn
Nearby Hotels
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$220
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
$199
$189
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$129
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveler rating
418
67
24
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
418
67
24
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeclaration of independencejefferson suitemagnolia roomother guestsprivate porchbroad streetbarbados roombreakfast and afternoon teathird floorsouthern hospitalitythe main housequichebed and breakfastbreakfast was deliciousoff street parkingafternoon winewithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 522 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was not our first trip to the Governor Inn and as always it did not disappoint us. The Inn is beautiful with a Gone with the Wind staircase. One of the things that also makes it so special are the people who work there. Anything you want? They will glad to take care of it for you. We also noticed a new menu this year and our compliments to the chef.

Room Tip: Love the Laurens Room which has it's own private piazza. Perfect for afternoon wine.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spent two nights at The Governor's House in Charleston. We stayed in the Orange Grove room and loved it. The house and rooms are beautiful. The owners and staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. Scrumptious breakfasts, afternoon tea, and evening sherry are provided daily. Will definitely stay again next time we're in Charleston!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattiMerritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed March 3rd & 4th in a terrace level room which has a seperate entrance and terrace. Really liked staying in this area of the inn. Room had a large luxurious bathroom and comfortable bed and pillows. The housekeeper works hard keeping it very clean. The staff was friendly, and we enjoyed socializing a bit with the other guests at the afternoon wine and tea. The location is ideal and the free parking area saves money, time and aggravation.
Re: Food-After reading some reviews about the food-we didn't expect a lot, so no disapointment for us. They have cereal and toast and fruit at breakfast (good coffee), if you don't want the entree. We thought the snacks at afternoon tea were good, and we did appreciate this amenity-wine and peach tea were delicious. One of the staff gave us good advice on a seafood restaurant-Hymans located almost in front of the market. Great food-reasonably priced-eat early if you don't want a long wait. Best seafood I've had in a long time. Incredibly good fried oysters.
We really enjoyed the comfort,cleanliness, hospitatily and the ambiance. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

They really need to work on their breakfast for a Bed & Breakfast. The small breakfast was served cold both mornings. The pancakes were room temp, the sausage was cold & the egg dish was cold. There were no pastrys or fresh cakes served with tea as advertised on the website & brochures. They served fritos & salsa, cheap cheese spread & crackers. We have stayed at numerous B&B's & we can honestly say, we will not return to this one. The friendly cat had the run of the house, including the kitchen. Beware if you have allergies. The upside is a good location & free parking.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Susan34599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGHI, General Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

As General Manager of the Governor’s House Inn, I would like to express the entire staff’s apology to Susan for her breakfast service. We wish she had let us know right away that her breakfast was not to her liking, and we would have been happy to take care of that for her. We are also sorry she was disappointed with the menu changes made concerning our afternoon tea. She is correct. We should update our photos on our website.
We have found that most of our guests have become more concerned about nutrition than they were a few years ago. We have adjusted our menu accordingly and serve more savory items and less sweet. For example our guests love our mushrooms stuffed with spinach, open face cucumber sandwiches, deviled eggs, and stuffed red and yellow peppers. Our homemade cheese spreads are not cheap and are some of our most sought after recipes. We use the best name brand ingredients, and they are all homemade at the Inn. We always include something sweet and usually something chocolate. You will know why our ultimate brownie recipe is named that as soon as you taste them. During the tea hour we offer peach iced tea, an assortment of very nice hot teas, coffee, and a nice red and white wine.
Yes, we do have a cat that many of our guests enjoy. We realize that some people don’t like cats or have an allergy to them. We do our best to keep him as far away as possible from those guests. He does not have the run of the kitchen. He is allowed only just inside the door where his food and water bowl are. He prefers his meals on the back porch. We never invited “New” into the house or any of the guest rooms. Our guests did.
We would like to invite Susan to visit Governor’s House Inn again. We would love the opportunity to show her how wonderful the Inn can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

What a wonderful place! We stayed in the Barbados Suite and loved every minute of our stay. The house is a museum by itself that has been beautifully decorated and maintained. Try the afternoon low country tea on the porch. The breakfasts were delicious. The location of the mansion is great for downtown exploration. The off street parking was an added bonus. We definitely will plan on a return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews