We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Governor's House - Orange Grove Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Governor's House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Governor's House Inn
Ranked #8 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Governor's House - Orange Grove Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Inn has a fabulous location as you can park your car for free and easily walk to the water and restaurants. The grounds and the house were charming and well kept. Breakfast was a huge disappointment as it was small and very limited with choices. Our room had the bathroom added without changing the windows or door as they had glass on them. Very lacking in privacy as one window was right beside the toilet, and the shower ceiling had black moldy spots. Considering that we were paying $275 a night, our expectations were not met and we would not return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGHI, General Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
As General Manager of the Governor’s House Inn I would like to respond to the comments made by Nakia. I thank him for his positive comments on the Inn. I’m happy he appreciated the location and was pleased with the house and the grounds. However, I am surprised to learn of his disappointments. Our goal is to provide every guest with a pleasant experience. I am very sorry that Nakia did not leave with that notion. Had these concerns been brought to our attention, they would have been addressed. We are always happy to provide alternative solutions to every unpleasant surprise.
To clarify more specifically, the bathroom in the Orange Grove Room was not left unfinished. It is designed to be aesthetically pleasing. This room is highly desired and has the highest occupancy rate of any other room and has several loyal repeat guests. Our breakfasts are quality homemade entrees with a portion size that allows our guests to partake in our city’s culinary delights.
Mary Kittrell
General Manager
The Governor’s House Inn
Charleston, South Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    51
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
264
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My husband and I got into Charleston a few hours before check-in. With smaller hotels and B&Bs we understand sometimes it is hard to get into your room early. We went to GHI simply in hopes of dropping our luggage off and visiting a museum close by. Upon arrival, one of the staff, a young man, got our luggage, provided us a very warm welcome. We told him we knew it was probably too early to check in but just wanted to see and if not, we'd drop our luggage off. He said he would check on the room. Something must have gotten lost in translation because not soon after what appeared to be the owner (or manager?), appeared and essentially scolded us for appearing so soon and there is no way a room could be ready this early in the day. "NO B&B would have such early check in" (P.S. It was 2:00 p.m.). I repeatedly apologized stating we did not need the room now, we were just checking and leaving luggage. "Oh, well, ok." And the demeanor changed. Long story short. Somehow in the fifteen minutes of first niceties and then scolding our room was ready.

This was the only downfall of the stay for us. While we obviously bounced back from that, I agree with other reviewers that you never really got to "know" any of the staff nor see the owners on a regular basis (we aren't exactly those chatty B&B people either). It was the least intimate B&B I have stayed at.

With all of that being said, once we got settled into our room, it was an absolutely WONDERFUL stay. The bed was extraordinarily comfortable, the bathroom spacious, and the room was very clean. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting on the patio, even in August temperatures! The breakfasts and afternoon tea were delightful. Absolutely delicious food and drinks.

The location was perfect and parking quite convenient. The staff are extraordinarily accommodating. They provided my husband with a bike so he could accompany me on my morning jogs through the city. (We did the bridge one morning--a definite highlight of the trip.)

This is a bit more than we usually spend on lodging but it was really worth it in the end. Staying at the GHI was one of my favorite parts of Charleston). I would highly recommend staying at the Governor's House...just make sure you go at check-in :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank the_farmers_wife54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGHI, General Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
As General Manager of the Governor’s House Inn I would like to thank The Farmer’s Wife for all her comments about her stay at the Governor’s House Inn. Her positive remarks uplift our spirits and her negative ones let us know where we need to improve and give us the opportunity to offer our apologies. In this case I would like to say I‘m so sorry she felt as though she was being scolded for arriving at the Inn early. Our guests are always welcome to come to the Inn as soon as they arrive in Charleston. We have private parking for our guests in our garden courtyard, so our guests can park their car, come in for peach ice tea, a map of the city and recommendations for lunch or places to go and things to do. They can also drop off their luggage, and we will have it in their room when they return to check in. We also allow our guests to continue using the common areas of the Inn and our parking on the day they are scheduled to depart from the Inn if they would like to enjoy Charleston a while longer. Standard procedure is to explain these privileges to our guests when we make their reservations.
You will probably not meet the owners of the Inn during your stay, because they live in Wisconsin.
Our favorite part of being Innkeepers is getting to know our guests, so I want to apologize for not spending more time with her. There is such a fine line between intruding on guests’ privacy and offering service at its best.
Again let me say thank you to the Farmer’s Wife. She had so many nice compliments of the Governor’s House Inn, and we sincerely appreciate her sharing them on trip advisor. We hope she will return and allow us to try to make her visit as perfect as can be.
Sincerely,
Mary Kittrell
General Manager
The Governor’s House Inn
Charleston, SC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the spacious Jefferson suite, cozy and warm. The house is in a great
Location to everything. Staff very nice, the
House was quiet and quaint. The grounds and rooms are kept emaculate. Parking was very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ny1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My wife and I were out for our "baby-moon" for a few days in Charleston and were thrilled to have stayed at the GHI. First off, the staff was so welcoming and warm treating us like new friends. Within 20 minutes of getting there we had our restaurant recomendations and were not dissapointed. We stayed in the Laurens room which was fabulous and highly recommended due to open feel, and attached wak out porch which was lovely. Breakfast was a great start to the day, but no too much to ruin an early lunch. This is a town where you need to be ready to eat and eat because the food is simply fabulous.

The B&B was simply charming, quaint and in a perfect location to walk essentially anywhere in the town. The proviced free parking was a plus as was the concierge services which we used.

Overall, you won't be dissapointed and will probably want to go back!.

Room Tip: if possible, get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PreBabyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I visited Charleston last weekend for my first time, and of all the options available, I wouldn't have stayed anywhere else. The inn was so quintessential Charleston--the house itself was the historic home of John Rutledge.
The rooms were lovely--clean, historic and comfortable. I highly recommend this Middleton Suite with it's fireplace, shared balcony, kitchen area and spacious bathroom.
Breakfast was very good--each day had a rotating hot entree and some were better than others--but that's all a matter of taste. Afternoon tea/wine hour was always a highlight and the homemade baked goods that they set out were delicious.
Service was excellent and location couldn't be topped. I definitely recommend the Governor's House for couples, single travelers and small families.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kftraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have stayed at the Governor's on several occasions over the years and it has always been a lovely experience. First, the old mansion, steeped in history, couldn't be more charming. Beautifully decorated common areas and bedrooms with comfortable well equipped baths lend a romantic touch to the old world charm of the house.
Breakfast and wine/tea time are quite pleasant and give guests an opportunity to mingle with other guests. The staff are professional and eager to help you without being intrusive. The location is very convenient to good shopping and restaurants.
What more could any traveler want? When visiting Charleston, this is the place to stay for a truly memorable experience!

Room Tip: The Kitchen House with the living room and front porch is my favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLearwater FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our trip to the Governor's House Inn was great. Sally Anne gave us a great rate because we called her directly. The big selling point was that the parking was FREE and there was high tea at 4PM every day. Parking is at a premium in Charleston so this was a big perk.

The Mansion is just slightly south of Broad Street just east of King (the main drag). Restaurants are 1 to 6 blocks away.

The house is beautifully restored as it was in the 1890's renovations, however the house was originally built in 1750. The rooms are comfortable. Its good to remember that this is building that is almost 300 years old so except it not to be 21st century, which is the whole point.

We liked that breakfast was included. It was not a great as the restaurants we were eating in but saved another slice of money.

Aside from the gorgeous house and the amazing grounds the social interactions with the guests was another gem. The talk in the morning is "where did you eat?" "How was it?" Where are you eating today? We all shared our stories of finding restaurants and great historical ventures at high tea and breakfast.

At night there is a brandy decanter for all to partake of a night cap before turning it.

Room Tip: The top rooms are great for younger folks as there are two flights of stairs. Bell hop carries your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,481 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#5 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,786 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#3 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Planters Inn
#9 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Governor's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Governor's House Inn

Property: The Governor's House Inn
Address: 117 Broad St, Charleston, SC 29401-2435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Governor's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor's House Inn offers the rare pleasures, aristocratic comforts and romantic grandeur of a pre-revolutionary National Landmark. With magnificent drawing rooms, boudoir staterooms, and expansive veranda porches, it is no wonder that the former Governor's mansion was proclaimed the most glamorous of Charleston inns by Travel Holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Governor's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s House Hotel Charleston
Governors Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing