We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Governor's House Inn
Nearby Hotels
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$220
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
$199
$189
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$129
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (522)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveler rating
418
67
24
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
418
67
24
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeclaration of independencejefferson suitemagnolia roomother guestsprivate porchbroad streetbarbados roombreakfast and afternoon teathird floorsouthern hospitalitythe main housequichebed and breakfastbreakfast was deliciousoff street parkingafternoon winewithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
406 - 411 of 522 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Everything was wonderful,service,room,breakfast.my first b and b experience and it was out of this world!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Governor's House Inn is a wonderful place to stay in Charleston. The inn is decorated appropriately for a southern federal mansion - beautiful furniture, paintings, and carpets that made me feel at home right away. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful - Mary, Laura, Sally Ann, Hollis, Kristy. The breakfasts and teas were delicious. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable. I can't say enough positive things about the Governor's House Inn. I am already planning to go again later this year.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheelm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

The staff could not do more to ensure our visit was everything we could ask for.
We stayed in the Jefferson Suite with it's private deck, fireplace and a 4-poster, canopied bed that was extremely comfortable.
Very convenient location witheasy access to everything.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeMAsheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

This is the an outstanding B & B, more a boutique hotel.
Our room on the ground floor was a delight.
The staff were all charming and helpful.
The decoration of the lounge and breakfast areas was in the period and to a high standard.
Breakfasts and afternoon tea are lovely and show imagination
All in all a great place to stay in a charming city.
If you are going to the beach choose Foley beach.
If eating out for a special occasion choose The Charleston Grill

Room Tip: Look on their web site , there are great pictures
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silverton11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

The Inn itself is in the centre of Charleston. The staff are helfpul and point you to the best restaurants in town. We stayed in the Orange Room; large and comfortable with its own patio area. They have bikes to use; no brakes but we got used to back pedalling! Particular thanks to the girl from Sheffield and also the girl who made us the best cup of tea in our two week stay in the States (strong and hot!). The breakfast was lovely particularly the poached egg wrapped in bacon; the afternoon tea snacks/wine are great too!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameramadsolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews