We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Why B&Bs are superior to Hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Bed and Breakfast at 4 Unity Alley

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Bed and Breakfast at 4 Unity Alley
Save
You added A Bed and Breakfast at 4 Unity Alley to your Saves list
Ranked #29 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Why B&Bs are superior to Hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great hospitality that made our stay very memorable. This was my wife's birthday trip and the management made it very special by serving BDay cake the breakfast of her special day. My friends and I had many wonderful conversations with John, manager and artist (metal/wood sculpture). He recommended several great restaurants (that proved to be excellent) and other important tourist info that maximized our experience. We also met and enjoyed the company of the other guests. The breakfasts were huge and very tasty. They were different every day. In addition to the personal touches, the location is quite possibly the best in Charleston; literally a few steps from the heart of the city's entertainment. We loved Charleston and plan to visit often and will always stay at 4 Unity Alley B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    17
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
69
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our spacious room was kept clean. We always came back from walks around the city to fresh sheets on our bed and clean towels in the bathroom. This b&b is close to the market, south of broad, the battery, king street shopping district, and all the restaurants on east bay and queen street. Runners will definitely appreciate proximity to the waterfront especially during the early mornings. There is a coffee shop just across the street on east bay. A brewery is only steps away. Beer on a summer afternoon - priceless!
Donald and John join guests for breakfasts, share a little history of charleston and unity alley, recommend places to go to, and make you feel so at home.
Will definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRYSTAL RIVER
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I was very impressed with the hospitality, Donald and John are very nice, was very helpful (our first time in Charleston). The rooms were very nice would highly recommend it to everyone wanting a quiet peaceful place to stay, while touring the old french quarter. There is enough secure parking for four vehicles, a little tight but, John parked ours for us, once parked we never moved the vehicle our entire stay, every thing we need is within walking distance. I also have to say thank you to Linda, she and John put on the best breakfast every morning a great start to the day. I will definitely stay there again. Thanx guys Dave

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

this was the second time we have stayed a 4 Unity Alley. We have always found it to be very, very comfortable, clean and well appointed without being too fussy. The owner Donald is always very personable and welcoming without being overbearing. John and Linda were also very friendly. The breakfast is delicious and very laid back...you feel at home. Can't beat the location....will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burgie
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this B & B in early June of this year. We were very, very pleased with everything. The location was perfect, on a quiet short street -- really like an upscale alley where a car seldom goes down and right off East Bay and a minute walk to both Broad and the waterfront.
They have just 4 rooms - more like suites - and we have a large bathroom, a leather day bed for the second person to sleep on and our own balcony which overlooked the downstairs central courtyard.
The inn was decorated with a wonderful mixture of antiques with some modern art and was very clean.
The breakfast was very ample but rather traditional and no afternoon tea. But who would rush back from their outings because of tea? Not us, we were on the go all day. Loved Charleston and would certainly stay there again. Reasonably priced as well. Nice owners and Linda, the cook and person who cleaned was so friendly.

Room Tip: The two front rooms (both upstairs) have the extra day bed. All guest rooms are on the second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burgie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Nice big rooms. Parking was a bit difficult. Great location for shopping and dining. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luanne e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

You can't get much better in terms of location - very quiet but steps from the action on East Bay. The innkeeper, Donald, was very gracious and showed us about the property before we settled into our room. We had a very large room with king bed and a huge sitting area. Bathroom had a separate shower / soaker tub.

The room was well appointed but some things needed addressing - at some point in the past, there was water damage next to the shower - the floor has cracked through and really should be repaired as it was close to the toilet. Some lights in the room didn't work and the lock to the room was difficult to work.

Having secured, covered parking in the heart of the French Quarter is a major plus - small garage and if 4 cars there, it requires a bit of juggling (which the Inn assists with).

Breakfast, while tasty, wasn't overly adventuresome. As others have mentioned, you pretty much only see Donald or other staff in the a.m. but seldom later. The Inn is on the market which may be a distraction for the owner. We had a very nice stay in Charleston but the Inn neither reduced or added to the visit. It was very comfortable, clean, convenient, and visually wonderful but I believe it is fading from what I'm sure was a terrific place.

Room Tip: All rooms are upstairs and face into an inner courtyard - I doubt any would be problematic for noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jra1341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Ansonborough Inn
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#9 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,783 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Lodge Alley Inn
Lodge Alley Inn
#40 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
French Quarter
27 State Street Bed and Breakfast
Charlestowne
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bed and Breakfast at 4 Unity Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bed and Breakfast at 4 Unity Alley

Property: A Bed and Breakfast at 4 Unity Alley
Address: 4 Unity Aly, Charleston, SC 29401-3009
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
a b&b At 4 Unity Alley
a Bed And Breakfast At 4 Unity Alley Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing