We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many other B&Bs in Carleston to consider this one”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Antebellum Bed and Breakfast at Thomas Lamboll House
Ranked #24 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
charlotte, north carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too many other B&Bs in Carleston to consider this one”
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Host not present upon scheduled arrival. No assistance with luggage to third floor. No afternoon libations at all and not even a bottle of water available in our room, let alone flowers or welcoming snack. Nothing special about the room. As we were leaving for dinner, hostess asked if we would prefer coffee or tea for breakfast in the morning. I expressed a preference for decaffinated coffee and her response was "if I have some, I'll put it out" (!) There was no decaf in the morning. At breakfast (fruit and cereal, biscuits and jam), which is only served from 8:30 until 9, she seemed very anxious for us to depart and asked if I had brought my credit card with me to breakfast. No assistance with bringing luggage down from third floor. I was traveling with my 80 year old mother and found this to be a very disappointing experience. I would not recommend them and would certainly not consider staying there again. Next visit to Charleston, I will book the Meeting Street Inn.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank perfectseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    2
    8
    2
See reviews for
8
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2008

Welcome to Charleston. Set your watch back 200 years. We came for the candleight home tour and found our B&B far more charming than anything on the tour. Slight problem checking in as owners were in Europe, Host was owner's son who was not on premises.

House is lovely, and has not been modernized except for bathrooms which may be 1920's. Deep clawfoot bathtub! Location allows for walking to everything, and there was off-street parking. You don't have to close your eyes to imagine yourself in the 18th Century.

Suite was clean and spacious including a fireplace, dressing room and large private bath.

Owner's son was extremely friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was both excellent and elegant. Household companions were a friendly Persian cat and and adorable, loving little Cavalier King Charles Spaniel we were privileged to walk morning and evening (our choice) and who visited our room (again our choice.)

We will most certainly be returning next year.

  • Liked — Historical ambiance of house
  • Disliked — Difficulty in checking in
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lrobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2007

A fantastic place to stay. The bedroom was huge, comfy, and furnished with an antique sofa, many beautifully carved chairs, and excellent pieces of china and art. Off street parking was available. The bathroom fixtures were antiques and fun to use – a genuine claw-foot tub. The French doors led to a piazza with a lovely view, and you could hear the many fountains in the neighborhood. There is a friendly spaniel and persian cat who will sit with you downstairs. Continental breakfast was an elegant experience. Mrs. Read serves breakfast in the formal dining room on beautiful china and polished silver.

  • Liked — The beauty of the home. It was furnished to period, which was the point of staying in a B&B.
  • Disliked — It was wonderful.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlestonartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2007

Great location, lovely house but spoilt by owners who do as little as possible for guests.
Advertised in the B&B guide as "gourmet breakfast" which swung it for me. In reality it was merely adequate - 3 strawberries per person, 1 biscuit each, serial, fruit juice and a banana. One morning a bought in applie pie which was microwave heated. This is not Southern hospitality. Guests get a list of rules e.g. switch off all ligths, switch alarm on and off etc.
Our room had a bug infestation and we had to kill them off each day, owner said they were silverfish - clearly the room was not checked before guests arrived as several dozen of these bugs we hanging from the ceiling. When I stood on the bed the get rid of some more I saw 1/2" of dust behind the bed headboard and we had a sliver of glass in the bathroom - clearly this room wasn't vacuumed very often.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Wiltshire_Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charleston hotels

Santa Fe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2006

The house was located in a quiet historic residential district walking distance to all the interesting Charleston sites. The house itself was lovely, and the accomodations fine, but the hosts, oh my!! The owners argued into the night complete with slamming doors. Our room was on the third floor and in order to access it, we needed to pass by the owner's study. Inevitably, he would fling his door open and begin regaling us with stories of a tax reform project he was working on. This happened repeadtedly and he would lecture us at breakfast as well. On the morning of our departure, he left a newspaper outside our door with stories of his efforts.

In a fairness, I have to say that the accomodations were very comfortable and well appointed and the outdoors porches were real winners, but the owners were intrusive.

  • Liked — house and location
  • Disliked — the owners
  • Tips/Secrets — both guest room are on the third floor
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 14, 2004

We were not overly impressed with the hospitality at the Thomas Lamboll House. We were prepared for the continental breakfast, and the muffins and such were delicious. However, the top of the jelly jar had mold on it, and the cereal, which was kept in lovely crystal jars, had a chipped piece of crystal in it which unfortunately ended up in my mouth. Not what you would expect when paying $ 175 a night.

At check in we were only shown our room, and weren't encouraged to use the common rooms as advertised in their brochures. We felt restricted to our room. Our room was lovely and the bed was comfortable. The maid service was adequate but failed to replenish our toilet paper. We had to ask the inkeeper for a roll.

The house was quiet and well maintained for an old building, but we didn't feel particularly at home. The inkeeper was somewhat intimidating, and wasn't as helpful as others in our experience, with suggesting things to visit in Charleston. We were indirectly referred to as "Yankees" and then had to listen to a diatribe about his ancestry while our coffee grew cold.

The neighborhood was lovely and it was a short walk to the harbor, but for future stays we will shell out the extra money and stay elsewhere
where we felt more welcome.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 62 in Charleston
672 reviews
Charlestowne
21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
French Quarter
27 State Street Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
22 Charlotte Bed & Breakfast
22 Charlotte Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 40 in Charleston
130 reviews
The Governor's House Inn
#3 of 40 in Charleston
464 reviews
86 Cannon
#12 of 40 in Charleston
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antebellum Bed and Breakfast at Thomas Lamboll House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antebellum Bed and Breakfast at Thomas Lamboll House

Property: Antebellum Bed and Breakfast at Thomas Lamboll House
Address: 19 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-2734
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing