We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best place to stay in Charleston, but not for everyone”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zero Water Street Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“best place to stay in Charleston, but not for everyone”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We loved this place - it's big, beautifully maintained, historic, full of antiques, perfectly located and makes your visit easy with "do it yourself" breakfast supplies and both kitchen & laundry facilities. The "piazza" overlooking the Charleston Bay, and the location right on the Battery at the heart of the old residential district, were real highlights. The owners are also friendly and kindly gave us a tour of their part of the house, downstairs. I would definitely stay here again. It might not be for everyone, though - it is on the 3rd floor with lots of narrow stairs, and the fairly open piazza with old fashioned railings would scare me if I had young children with me. It's also fairly expensive, but we felt it was worthwhile for the space & great experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cantravnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This was the second time my husband and I have stayed at Zero Water Street in the past 2 years and we will definatley be back. I will never stay anywhere else in Charleston!

Besides the perfect location on the water and the amazing porch, I truly love that the owner's of the home just let you be. It's almost as if it's your own place. Trust me, I enjoy bed and breakfasts, but I also enjoy having privacy and not having to share each morning with fellow guests at a specified time. You receive fresh fruit daily, along with great baked goods. There is plenty to fill you up.

The accomodations are incredible - you will be speechless upon entering.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NZele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakenheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We visited Charleston as part of our 5th wedding anniversary trip to South Carolina. We wanted to stay in the heart of Charleston, and Zero Water Street was the ideal setup. Jim and Cordes were excellent both in pre-trip arrangements and in making sure that we were settled and cozy. You have the entire third floor of this beautiful home to yourself, and it includes a large bedroom, sitting room, bathroom, kitchen (where you have access to breakfast foods at all times), and covered porch (with views of Charleston Harbor that cannot be beat). We are big history people, so we loved learning about the background of the house from Cordes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mboggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duluth mn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Clearly the most inviting, relaxing, convenient place to stay in Charleston. Better than the photos - it is like you are back in time with period antiques, a lovely breakfast and wonderful owners.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duluthian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Zero Water B & B is a great place to stay to enjoy the views of the Charleston Harbor & Fort Sumter. It is within walking distance to all things Charleston-restaruants, architecture, the market, Battery Park. You can sit on the verandah and enjoy views while hearing the clip clop of horse drawn carriages strolling by. The home is steeped in history and the owners are happy to share it with their guests.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baybruces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2010

When we booked 3 nights at Zero Water Street, it was with a little bit of uncertainty because we weren't sure how comfortable we'd feel staying in someone else's home. Once we arrived it became clear that there was no reason to worry. When you stay at Zero Water Street, you have the entire third floor of the historic house at your disposal. There is a bedroom (with a comfortable bed and good quality linens), bathroom (spotless and airy), living room (with a large set of windows overlooking the water), front hall/study (stocked with a variety of books and a desk set up with free wifi), kitchen (the fridge came in handy for restaurant leftovers), and the piece-de-resistance: a covered porch overlooking the Battery. The entire floor is furnished with taste and thoughtfulness. Jim and Corres Simpson took over the running of the B&B from Corres' parents, around 5 years ago. When this happened, they renovated the entire 3rd floor. It is both restful and roomy, and it is very easy to pretend that this is your home for the time you are there. The hosts are in no way intrusive, and you have a great deal of privacy. We met Jim when we first checked in and he explained how we could walk around the gardens, park in our assigned spot, and visit the little playhouse built for one of Corres' ancestors. He offered to give us a tour of the rest of the house if we were interested. Besides that, the Simpsons stay out of your way. You have your own entrance and key. Housecelaning comes every day between noon and 2 pm, which was great for us so we could sleep in and generally eat a leisurely breakfast, always on the porch. Breakfast was replenished every day: coffee cake, fruit, yogurt, cereal, juice, coffee/tea, and bottled water. It was an ample amount and I can't tell you how much we enjoyed eating breakfast on the porch, looking out onto the water and Ft. Sumter in the distance. One morning we even watched a regatta--best seats in the house! The location of the house was perfect for us, right on the Battery and an easy (and scenic) walk to Market, King, and Queen Streets and the restaurants. We enjoyed walking along the Battery in the evenings and, upon visiting an art gallery dowtown, were delighted to notice that this house is often depicted in paintings of Charleston.
This is the sort of place you pray will not change before you get a chance to visit again. Thank you for a wonderful stay. We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank cvillereader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

My wife and I had never visited Charleston previously and wanted to take advantage of an opportunity following a business trip to FL. After looking at the listings for a lot of B&B's, I finally decided to give this one a try. Looking back at my decision, I don't think that I could have done better!

Zero Water Street is not your typical B&B. If you are looking for a busy place with an out of this world breakfast and interactions with other guests, then you may want to look elsewhere. If you are looking for a romantic getaway with space, privacy, excellent views, and a decent breakfast in Charleston, then look no further!

It's hard to decide where to begin. The inn is the third floor of a house built in 1836 that has been in the current family since 1902. The suite is on the third floor and the second flight of stairs is a bit narrow. The accommodations consist of a bedroom, living room, large hall, a fully-stocked kitchen, a generous bathroom and an incomparable piazza. There is a private enterance to the suite. The rooms all have 10-12' ceilings. There is an unobstructed view of Charleston harbor with Fort Sumter in the distance from the living room and Piazza (and bathroom). Off-street parking is provided. (We parked the car and didn't need to move it again until we left for home.) The bed was firm, but was not uncomforable

Everything you need for breakfast is in the kitchen. During our stay, there was a selection of cereals, a bowl of fresh fruit, juice, milk, water, bagels, English muffins, jams/jellies, a loaf of fresh breakfast bread, fresh fruit cup, yogurt, etc. Breakfast is at your leisure. You could eat at 4 in the morning or sleep in until noon - no problem. We enjoyed breakfast on the piazza each morning. We didn't even notice that it was raining the second morning until we were half way through eating. While being an excellent place for breakfast, the piazza is alos a great place to hang out. In addition to a pair of rocking chairs there is a swing and a hammock. The piazza would be an ideal place to share a bottle of wine in the evening!

My only regret is that I did not book early enough to stay for three consecutive nights. The price was a bit intimidating at $275 a night, but considering that many other inns in the historic district charge that much or more and likely deliver far less, it is really a bargain for the location and amenities.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tokencollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zero Water Street Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zero Water Street Bed and Breakfast

Property: Zero Water Street Bed and Breakfast
Address: 31 E Battery St, Charleston, SC 29401-2739
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy privacy and spectacular views in this circa 1836, historic, family home overlooking the Charleston Harbor on High Battery. The entire 1400 square foot 3rd floor suite including the spacious piazza is yours. Watch the sunrise over the harbor and the sunset over the Charleston rooftops. Walk to excellent restaurants, shops and museums. Truly a one of a kind experience that will make your visit to Charleston one you will never forget.Experience Charleston from the front row! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zero Water Street Hotel Charleston
Zero Water Street b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing