We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of King George IV Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King George IV Inn
Ranked #9 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed October 31, 2006

My husband and I stayed here for three nights at the end of October. It was a wonderful stay. Terry, one of the innkeepers, was friendly, well informed and baked great bread for breakfast. (He even gave me the receipe.)His wife, though around less, was friendly and keeps the home looking beautiful with lots of outside plants and seasonal decorations. This was our 4th visit to Charleston, one of our favorite cities, and staying at the King George made the visit even better. One quiet afternoon, Terry even gave us a tour of some of the inn's 9 other rooms. The rooms are all uniquely decorated and ours (1B) had a beautiful iron bed and furnishings. The inn's friendly cat, Victoria, added to the feeling that you were at someone's home.

The inn is centrally located and it is easy to walk to almost all areas of downtown. Breakfast is varied and good and a nice chance to talk with other visitors. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — friendly innkeepers and central location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank blondie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    119
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
78
297
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pataskala, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2006

For our annual sisters weekend we selected Charleston, SC as a nice alternative to a big city. We opted for the King George Inn as we were able to rent the entire first floor for the weekend. The set up worked really well for us. We found the rooms to be very comfortable and well kept.

The only drawback we encountered were the innkeepers. Although the guest books in the rooms all raved about what great hosts they are, we didn't find this to be the case. For one, the wift brought her mother into our rooms look at the Halloween decorations without knocking - just unlocked the door and came in even though we were there. Additionally, there seemed to be a concern about the amount of coffee we consumed. Odd considering how much we spent for the weekend stay. This is the first time I have encountered a B&B that forgot they were running a business and we weren't quests that refused to leave.

The inn was a good value and is within walking distance of much.

  • Liked — The rooms were very nicely decorated
  • Disliked — Innkeepers
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sahowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2006

We stayed at KGIV for 7 nights. We loved it. We were steps away from King Street and walked everywhere.... such a beautiful city. It was also very very safe considering we walked late into the evening. We never had a problem. Terry, Debra and Debbie were very helpful in telling us where to go and where to eat. We were in beautiful room 5 .... a wonderful suite, with a kitchen and entry on to a lovely porch where we spent a lot of our quiet time. It was very clean. Breakfast was fun as we enjoyed meeting other guests. The other plus was the off-street parking. Trust me, you will not be disappointed. Judy and Steve, Portland, Oregon

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portlandgrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherfordton,NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2006

We loved our stay! We stayed in room 1 A and we loved it! We love to walk and enjoyed walking to the Aquarium Wharf to visit the Aquarium and then again that night to watch Superman Returns (3D) at the IMAX! We were within a few blocks of the Market and we were close to many shops and Restaraunts.
This was a great weekend in Charleston, as usual! A wonderful way to celebrate our anniversary!
We have an F-350 and could not make it into the driveway, however there is a parking lot across the street and the Owners took care of the parking ticket! THANKS!

  • Liked — I loved the location and decor!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lilredneckmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2006

My husband and I recently spent the first two nights of our honeymoon at the King George IV Inn. It was everything we expected and more. I had done a lot of research online prior to picking the Inn and was pleased to find the Inn every bit as beautiful as the pictures on their website. Room 5 where we stayed was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom was great (we especially loved the antique clawfoot tub) and the service was exceptional. Breakfast was yummy and unlike some places we didn't have to get up at 8:00 a.m. to get it. The only downside for us was that it was several blocks from the market area and in the 95 degree heat the walk was not pleasant. BUT, it didn't stop us from doing what we wanted to do and most of the year the heat wouldn't be such an issue.
Overall, it was a great experience and we will definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank gskennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2006

Wonderful staff...lovely, quaint inn...

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelersrus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wytheville, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2006

Wonderfull owners, delicious breakfast, a great location, modestly priced compared to the other B&B's in the area. We hope to return again in the future

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Restoration
#6 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George IV Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George IV Inn

Property: King George IV Inn
Address: 32 George Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1434
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Step into the past and feel the history of Charleston around you." King George IV Inn is a 200-year old (c.1790) historic home. The house is named The "Peter Freneau House," after a prominent Charleston journalist, and co-owner of the Charleston City Gazette. The inn is a four-story Federal style house, with Charleston porches overlooking a lovely courtyard. All rooms are furnished with a nice combination of antiques and reproductions. King George IV Inn is located in the heart of the historic district. One minute walk to King Street shopping and dining and only a five minute walk to the historic market. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King George Iv Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing