We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wouldn't stay anywhere else"”
Review of King George IV Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King George IV Inn
Ranked #9 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Wouldn't stay anywhere else"”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

When we first arrived, we were greeted by Charlene, who was absolutely wonderful. She sat and talked with us and even filled out a map of all the important sights around town. Throughout our trip she was so helpful. We stayed in room 5, and it was gorgeous. It even had a small kitchen! The room was spotless and decorated beautifully. We loved coming back after a long day of walking around the city. When we come back to Charleston, we won't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Room 5 is on the second floor. It has a beautiful porch. There is a bed, sitting area, kitchen, pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    119
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
78
297
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the King George IV for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. The inn is located within walking distance to almost everything. Terry was very helpful and had lots of suggestions for things to do. He makes a great omelette for breakfast, and Charlene's creamy scrambled eggs and grits were outstanding. But the best thing about this inn is the friendly staff and southern hospitality. We were treated like visiting friends, and no request was too much. We would definitely go back if we return to Charleston!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taekwandomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed at the King George IV Inn for a weekend away with my wife and I was not disappointed. The staff was very helpful and I enjoyed talking with Terry in the morning. The breakfast was nothing special but it was good. We stayed in room 8 on the 4th floor and we were really worried about sharing a bathroom but it turned out to be a non-issue and we enjoyed the savings. As a fan of old houses I wish there was more to the interior, but it was all bedrooms. The only real shared space are the porches and the small dining area. All said and done though, we enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obxcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our family stayed four nights and occupied five rooms. It was great to have the porches to get together on. The inn was within walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go.

Charlene was a real treat. She helped get 11 of us a table at Jestine's, and was full of suggestions for restaurants. She really went out of her way to make us feel at home and take care of everything we needed.

We didn't have any ghostly experiences, but had a lot of fun talking about it.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor room is really large, and you have the large porch, but all were really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I, were lucky enough to book the last room due to a cancellation over 4th of july weekend. The pictures in the website were enough to draw our attention but what sealed the deal was how friendly the lady on the phone was (sharlene). We where blown away by how clean, convenient, beautiful etc the facility was.. The fact that there is parking on site was a great bonus. Everybdoy that we came in contact was friendly and full of suggestions. I would recoomend this location to everybody I know and most definately came back on my next trip to charleston. Loved this place.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem equally great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krod24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My adult daughter and I stayed one night at King George IV Inn. The room (Room #2) was beautifully appointed and very spacious. I could not have asked for a nicer room. Parking was off street and ample. We spent time on the porch in the wonderful breeze which we really enjoyed. The location was perfect for anyone wanting to go shopping on King Street. The staff was very easy to work with. The only reason I did not give a 5 is that the breakfast was quite ordinary. I would stay again and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 2 is on the second floor and is beautiful. It has the most amazing headboard I've ever seen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherrychin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had an incredible time at this BnB!!! It fulfilled everything we were hoping for in our trip. The inn is so pretty and incredibly cozy. We stayed in room 3 which had an incredibly comfortable bed! The bathroom has been remodeled and a has a very large stand up shower. We really enjoyed grabbing breakfast and sitting on our 2nd floor patio to eat. The yummy eggs, bacon, sausage, fresh fruit, and especially home made bread was the best way to start your day! The owner Terry was so kind and full of information about the city. He led us towards the Farmers Market that they have every Saturday and we found some great items to bring home with us. The location of this Inn in IDEAL!!! We parked our car in their off street lot when we arrived and didn't need it again until we left. Charlene checked us in when we arrived on Friday and she was as sweet and helpful as you could hope for.
We are already discussing our next trip to this Inn!! Thank you for a wonderful weekend!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyWestbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Restoration
#6 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George IV Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George IV Inn

Property: King George IV Inn
Address: 32 George Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1434
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Step into the past and feel the history of Charleston around you." King George IV Inn is a 200-year old (c.1790) historic home. The house is named The "Peter Freneau House," after a prominent Charleston journalist, and co-owner of the Charleston City Gazette. The inn is a four-story Federal style house, with Charleston porches overlooking a lovely courtyard. All rooms are furnished with a nice combination of antiques and reproductions. King George IV Inn is located in the heart of the historic district. One minute walk to King Street shopping and dining and only a five minute walk to the historic market. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King George Iv Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing