We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely and terrifically charming!”
Review of King George IV Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King George IV Inn
Ranked #9 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely and terrifically charming!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I can't say enough what a great time we had at King George IV Inn. Terry was a grand host and made us feel quite at home even from our first phone conversation! The Inn was fantastic...not overly fancy, but we thought it had just the right amount of elegance and tons of charm. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and beautifully appointed. My boyfriend and I kept saying how it felt like we were really staying in someone's home as opposed to a hotel. We stayed in Room 6 on the 3rd floor which had a shared patio/porch that we really enjoyed as well as the cheery red color scheme throughout the room. In fact, we had such a lovely time there that we stayed 2 nights instead of the 1 we had planned. Well-situated near the College of Charleston campus, the hotel is close to tons of great restaurants on King St as well as a short walk down to the Battery area. When we arrived, Terry sat down with us and gave us a map which he highlighted with restaurant recommendations, things to see, etc. I showed this map to a friend who has lived in Charleston for 15 years, and he was impressed with Terry's suggestions, saying that he hooked us up with the real local favorites! Breakfast was terrific as well, with plenty of options, and cooked to order. All in all, if you are looking for a very comfortable, well-located, well-run and beautiful hotel in Charleston...for the price, The King George IV Inn is awesome! It's our favorite hotel thus far on our 3 week journey across the South. It's a terrific value, and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    118
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
78
296
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Have stayed at King George IV inn several times...really like its location...easy to walk to most downtown places from the inn. Good breakfast served each morning. Rooms are nice. While its just off a fairly low-traffic road, sometimes that traffic can be noisy (e.g. garbage truck). Prices quite reasonable for room and location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwolf0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Having had a long held desire to visit Charleston, the King George IV Inn was the perfect place to base our Charleston explorations. Charlene gave us excellent tips on getting around via the free trolley and restaurants to try. Owners Terry and Deb are wonderful hosts. Housekeeping staff are very friendly and do a good job on the rooms.

We stayed in #5. All decorated for the holidays, the space gave us plenty of lounging choices. Kitchenette provided space to enjoy a quiet coffee/tea. My favorite space was the west facing porch because I'm a sucker for sun and sunsets. The inn's location couldn't be better. We walked to the city market, down from Cannon St., over to the Visitor's Center, all along King's St., over to Charleston College campus and all around the south of Broad St neighborhoods. We drove out to Kiawah Island, Folly Beach and explored Mount Pleasant and still didn't manage to use up our one tank of gas. Airport is easily accessible.

Breakfast allowed for having the full whack or watching the calories. Terry's omelets rock! Charlene's scrambled eggs are creamy and tasty. Deb's oatmeal chocolate chip cookies (Christmas treat) are nearly irresistible.

Only wish that Terry had arranged for less blustery chilly weather while we were there. <Grins>

Room Tip: Try them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khe2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assendelft
2 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had a great time staying here! Southern hospitality has a name! The King George IV Inn!
Because we we're travelling with 3 people Terry gave us another room for only 20 dollars extra!
Now that's what I call southern hospitality at it's best!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed here the beginning of December and recommend it if you can get a room. I found the cost was very economical and the location is great for parking your car and walking around the Market and King St. The manager is such a great lady who just makes your stay very enjoyable and her knowledge of places to go will allow you to dine off the beaten path. We were told our room was haunted but we did not see any ghost. Maybe on our next visit we can stay here and perhaps see a ghost. LOL

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delphinus65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Living and working in the Caribbean, in hospitality , it's hard to travel with certain expectations.
We were recommended to the King George through friends.
WOW,, what an amazing experience! Our room 1a was amazing, very roomy, and nice surprise, fully decorated for Christmas,,
Great front porch to drink a bottle of wine and meet your neighbors, with a beautiful Christmas tree.
Our hostess Charlene was amazing, a charming local lady who provided great breakfast every day, along with stories of the inn and city, and great advice for eateries off the beaten track.
The location is perfect, walking distance to historic areas as well as the vibrant downtown atmosphere,
The other guests we met were repeat business, and now we know why!!!
A true gem in the beautiful city of Charleston,
Will be back!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joolza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This 200+ year old home has been transformed into a great B&B, well located for anything you want to do in Charleston. A delicious full breakfast each day prepared by either Terry or Charlene...and the price was right!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate93426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,739 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,830 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,799 reviews
The Restoration
#6 of 61 in Charleston
989 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George IV Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George IV Inn

Property: King George IV Inn
Address: 32 George Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1434
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Step into the past and feel the history of Charleston around you." King George IV Inn is a 200-year old (c.1790) historic home. The house is named The "Peter Freneau House," after a prominent Charleston journalist, and co-owner of the Charleston City Gazette. The inn is a four-story Federal style house, with Charleston porches overlooking a lovely courtyard. All rooms are furnished with a nice combination of antiques and reproductions. King George IV Inn is located in the heart of the historic district. One minute walk to King Street shopping and dining and only a five minute walk to the historic market. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King George Iv Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing