We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Finds”
Review of Market Square

Market Square
Ranked #37 of 241 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An outdoor flea market, great for browsing.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Local Finds”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great local finds at Market Square in Charleston! Visit if you are in the downtown Charleston area.
Many local foods, art, pottery,, ornaments...something for everyone. If you are a shopper will love it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank V L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    304
    166
    21
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Little Touristy”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This market was right around the corner, so we walked through it a number of times. The length of the market was lined with local vendors which changed from day to day. We never did buy anything from here, but you may find something.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank coldcalifornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The history, the local craftspeople, the food, the shopping!!!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a must visit for first timers to Charleston, although we have gone almost every time we have been, which has been many! On the edges of the market are great stores and restaurants. The market itself has so much history. The shop keepers in the market are helpful and mostly pleasant. It is touristy but the gifts are unique. Definitely worth the visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Drslowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great place to see a little history and get some local food, art and handmade goods”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

The market is great to wonder through and see what the area has to offer in relation food and goods. Neat things to sample and items to buy for souvenirs and gifts for travels to the area. Really can't make a trip to Charleston without stopping here!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tons of fun!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My friends and I spent a couple hours here. There were so many great things to see. You really have to walk a while and be cautious of prices. Some things are really overpriced. I managed to find some sweet treats, and small print of a painting, a magnet, and a sweatshirt all for under $40. I was happy with that! Great little finds and souvenirs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Square also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing