We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“self walk tour”

Ranked #58 of 241 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 60-acre preserve where visitors observe many wildlife habitats.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“self walk tour”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

didn't fancy the boat or train tour so we done the self walk tour it's fantastic. lot's of wildlife turtle's lizards ducks with ducklings and herrings then we turned a corner and found a pond with lots of gators

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank daftbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    41
    18
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great guided walk”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Especially if you are visiting from outside the US - this is a great 'up close' look at the local wildlife. They get close to you too so wear plenty of bug repellent. We enjoyed it - 2 adults and 2 teens. I don't know why they forbid 'beverages', on very hot days you definitely need drinks. It is a real swamp and it's hot and sweaty. I wouldn't recommend it for small children either unless you have them under really tight control. Lots of places where you are close to the water with no fencing etc. Loads to see though, the birds are beautiful. My teenage daughters really enjoyed it - don't forget to bring your binoculars like we did! Great opportunity for photography too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryHelena2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Nice but expected more”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My expectations were not quite matched but it was still worth seeing. The great thing though is you get to see quite a bit of wildlife like all kinds of birds, aligator and turtles. Don't forget to put lots of bug spray on before you enter!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kluane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Saw some Gators!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We definitely enjoyed this, the only thing I didnt like was that you had to pay the price for entrance into the gardens as well, which was $15 on top of the $8 for the swamp. We didnt really want to see the gardens but went ahead since we had to pay for it. It would be much better if you could just buy admission to the swamp and not everything else.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Juanita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relaxing Day”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was the first thing we did on our vacation to the Charleston area. It was well worth it. So much natural beauty even in a swamp.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jmonacelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Audubon Swamp Garden also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Audubon Swamp Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing