We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,341)
Filter reviews
2,341 results
Traveler rating
1,857
288
127
48
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,857
288
127
48
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peninsula grill coconut cake relais chateaux teddy bear southern charm sweet tea perfect location turn down service four poster bed sitting room market street within walking distance beautiful hotel historic district boutique hotel a wonderful stay beautiful room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 2,341 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

We stayed in the Governor's Suite at the beautiful Planters Inn. The staff at the Planters Inn was warm, gracious and friendly. The hotel is ideally located in historic Charleston and it was such a treat to stay in this elegant, finely appointment suite. We had a romantic dinner at Peninsula Grill. Truly one of the best dining experiences we've ever had. The service was impeccable, the food incredible and we can't want to go back again.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lisajG6970GV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlantersInn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you very much for providing a glowing review of your experience at Planters Inn! The level of detail you provided about the friendliness of all of the staff, the comfort, privacy, and quaintness of your Governor's Suite, and how you enjoyed your dining experience at the Peninsula Grill is very much appreciated. Planters Inn strives to meet and exceed all of our guests' expectations and it gives us great pride to know that we provided excellent service for you. Thank you for taking the time to share with us! Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I had the most wonderful stay. The staff at the Planter's Inn are so helpful nothing is ever a trouble. I appreciate the emails prior to our arrival asking if we need anything arranged or have questions.
Are suite was perfect with plenty of room. And housekeeping there is amszing!
We had dinner at the Peninsula Grill which was fantastic.
Would highly recommend this property. Would not be disappointed.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FamilyWhoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlantersInn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate the thoughtful review and comments! The location, team, and rooms are a true gem here in Charleston and what sets our property apart. It’s great to be in the middle of what is happening and still a quaint location to come back to for rest and relaxation as if you had your own home here in the city. I look forward to sharing these kind words with the team members at both the inn and the Peninsula Grill as this will continue to motivate them to provide exceptional service to all our guests. Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We spent 4 glorious nights at the Planters Inn that included a trip to Fort Sumter, Drayton Hall and various historical homes and sites in and around the area. Our 2 room suite was located on a the 3rd floor overlooking the courtyard, very very quiet. Our king bed was plush and comfortable too with plenty of pillows to choose. The bathroom was huge and had the greatest shower I have experienced. The two large closets provided enough room for our stay and then some. More than enough hangers and very comfortable robes too. The sitting area had a nice couch and chair to either watch one of two TVs or plan the next day’s excursions. Continental Breakfast was included each morning in the Peninsula Grill or you could order off the menu. Very nice selection of local favorites and the Continental was ample to say the least. Parking was by valet and you had 24 hour access. There were afternoon refreshments served in the parlor along with local benne wafers and each evening there were sweets and coffee too. We highly recommend staying at the Planters Inn.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank BrianPGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlantersInn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for providing a glowing review of your "four glorious nights" at Planters Inn! The level of detail you provided about the comfort, privacy, and quaintness of your two-bedroom suite, and how you enjoyed the various inclusive amenities in the parlor and your room is very much appreciated. Planters Inn strives to meet and exceed all of our guests' expectations and it gives us great pride to know that we provided excellent service and tranquility for you at both the inn and the Peninsula Grill. Thank you for taking the time to share with us! Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this through Priceline for the first time and we’re not disappointed!! The price, location, and dedicated service was more than we expected!! We will definitely stay here again! Ask for Fred!!

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlantersInn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

It is so great to hear that you had a "wonderful" experience celebrating your anniversary here at Planters Inn! The level of detail you provided about the prime location and the friendliness of the team is very much appreciated. Planters Inn strives to meet and exceed all of our guests' expectations and it gives us great pride to know that we, and especially Fred, provided excellent service for you. Thank you for taking the time to share with us! Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location and very friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay here. The Peninsula restaurant has great food and the 12 layer coconut cake is to die for. The sitting room in the front lobby makes you feel like you live there.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bucstahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlantersInn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us here at Planters Inn! The location, team, and rooms are a true gem here in Charleston and what sets our property apart. All of us here at Planters Inn are delighted to know that you felt pampered and well taken care of during your time at our luxury boutique inn, especially as you enjoyed the cozy parlor with housemade treats from the Peninsula Grill. Thank you for your compliments about the warmth and Southern Hospitality you felt from our team, as they are a key to our success and we are fortunate to have them. Here is wishing you many happy memories and slices of coconut cake on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews