We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,341)
Filter reviews
2,341 results
Traveler rating
1,857
288
127
48
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,857
288
127
48
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peninsula grill coconut cake relais chateaux teddy bear southern charm sweet tea perfect location turn down service four poster bed sitting room market street within walking distance beautiful hotel historic district boutique hotel a wonderful stay beautiful room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 2,341 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We spent 4 glorious nights at the Planters Inn that included a trip to Fort Sumter, Drayton Hall and various historical homes and sites in and around the area. Our 2 room suite was located on a the 3rd floor overlooking the courtyard, very very quiet. Our king bed was plush and comfortable too with plenty of pillows to choose. The bathroom was huge and had the greatest shower I have experienced. The two large closets provided enough room for our stay and then some. More than enough hangers and very comfortable robes too. The sitting area had a nice couch and chair to either watch one of two TVs or plan the next day’s excursions. Continental Breakfast was included each morning in the Peninsula Grill or you could order off the menu. Very nice selection of local favorites and the Continental was ample to say the least. Parking was by valet and you had 24 hour access. There were afternoon refreshments served in the parlor along with local benne wafers and each evening there were sweets and coffee too. We highly recommend staying at the Planters Inn.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank BrianPGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlantersInn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for providing a glowing review of your "four glorious nights" at Planters Inn! The level of detail you provided about the comfort, privacy, and quaintness of your two-bedroom suite, and how you enjoyed the various inclusive amenities in the parlor and your room is very much appreciated. Planters Inn strives to meet and exceed all of our guests' expectations and it gives us great pride to know that we provided excellent service and tranquility for you at both the inn and the Peninsula Grill. Thank you for taking the time to share with us! Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this through Priceline for the first time and we’re not disappointed!! The price, location, and dedicated service was more than we expected!! We will definitely stay here again! Ask for Fred!!

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlantersInn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

It is so great to hear that you had a "wonderful" experience celebrating your anniversary here at Planters Inn! The level of detail you provided about the prime location and the friendliness of the team is very much appreciated. Planters Inn strives to meet and exceed all of our guests' expectations and it gives us great pride to know that we, and especially Fred, provided excellent service for you. Thank you for taking the time to share with us! Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location and very friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay here. The Peninsula restaurant has great food and the 12 layer coconut cake is to die for. The sitting room in the front lobby makes you feel like you live there.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bucstahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlantersInn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us here at Planters Inn! The location, team, and rooms are a true gem here in Charleston and what sets our property apart. All of us here at Planters Inn are delighted to know that you felt pampered and well taken care of during your time at our luxury boutique inn, especially as you enjoyed the cozy parlor with housemade treats from the Peninsula Grill. Thank you for your compliments about the warmth and Southern Hospitality you felt from our team, as they are a key to our success and we are fortunate to have them. Here is wishing you many happy memories and slices of coconut cake on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Found this charming hotel while searching for a place to stay. Was only available for our first night, but so glad we got to experience it. We know where we will be staying when we come back. Staff could not be friendlier, and a huge bonus was access to a first rate local gym a few blocks away. Location is perfect for exploring everything C-town has to offer.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlantersInn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write about your "charming" experience with us here at Planters Inn! The location, team, and rooms are a true gem here in Charleston and what sets our property apart. All of us here at Planters Inn are delighted to know that you felt pampered and well taken care of during your time at our luxury boutique inn and in between exploring the city you had the opportunity to access our "first-rate local gym". Furthermore, thank you for your compliments about the warmth and Southern Hospitality you felt from our team, as they are a key to our success and we are fortunate to have them. Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Reserved their top, largest suite. A disaster from the moment we arrived. Told they would call us when room was ready, or just come back at 3:00. No call, came back at 3:20, told it’s ready and given keys. Went to room, front door was open, cleaning cart in the hall, bed not made and no one there. Back to lobby, they had no clue. Asked about bar, directed to it but guess what? It doesn’t open until 4! And front desk didn’t even know that. We’re down the street, waiting on another phone call to say room is really ready. No apologies, nothing from reception. How in the world is this place so highly rated. Our advice: go to Belmond across the street.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Sammycain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlantersInn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Oh, dear! It seems we missed the mark during your visit, and we owe you an apology. Planters Inn works very hard to provide a pleasant and inviting experience for all guests. Clearly, things went wrong leading to a less than ideal stay for you. Again, I am sorry for the experience upon check-in. A problem such as this is certainly not up to our standards and for that, we are deeply sorry. I am, however, pleased we were able to provide you with a personalized apology from the team and moving forward we only hope that you will give us another chance so we may show you the flawless stay we strive to provide each of our guests. I certainly hope you will give Planters Inn another chance as I am confident we can provide the experience you expect and deserve.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly so I can assure your personal attention during your next stay email@plantersinn.com. We look forward to welcoming you back and exceeding your expectations.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews