We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,341)
Filter reviews
2,341 results
Traveler rating
1,857
288
127
48
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,857
288
127
48
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peninsula grill coconut cake relais chateaux teddy bear southern charm sweet tea perfect location turn down service four poster bed sitting room market street within walking distance beautiful hotel historic district boutique hotel a wonderful stay beautiful room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 2,341 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Reserved their top, largest suite. A disaster from the moment we arrived. Told they would call us when room was ready, or just come back at 3:00. No call, came back at 3:20, told it’s ready and given keys. Went to room, front door was open, cleaning cart in the hall, bed not made and no one there. Back to lobby, they had no clue. Asked about bar, directed to it but guess what? It doesn’t open until 4! And front desk didn’t even know that. We’re down the street, waiting on another phone call to say room is really ready. No apologies, nothing from reception. How in the world is this place so highly rated. Our advice: go to Belmond across the street.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Sammycain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlantersInn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Oh, dear! It seems we missed the mark during your visit, and we owe you an apology. Planters Inn works very hard to provide a pleasant and inviting experience for all guests. Clearly, things went wrong leading to a less than ideal stay for you. Again, I am sorry for the experience upon check-in. A problem such as this is certainly not up to our standards and for that, we are deeply sorry. I am, however, pleased we were able to provide you with a personalized apology from the team and moving forward we only hope that you will give us another chance so we may show you the flawless stay we strive to provide each of our guests. I certainly hope you will give Planters Inn another chance as I am confident we can provide the experience you expect and deserve.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly so I can assure your personal attention during your next stay email@plantersinn.com. We look forward to welcoming you back and exceeding your expectations.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a lovely, quiet hotel. Great for couples to stay at. The rooms are very nice. The courtyard is beautiful. The restaurant has wonderful and has very good service. Would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lsparks77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write about your "beautiful" experience with us here at Planters Inn! All of us here at Planters Inn are delighted to know that you felt pampered and well taken care of during your time at our luxury boutique inn from enjoying our hidden garden oasis courtyard to a lovely room awaiting you after a day of exploring the city. Furthermore, I am also happy to hear that our four-diamond restaurant, The Peninsula Grill, met your high expectations during your recent visit and that the atmosphere and service we provided made for a wonderful experience. I look forward to sharing your kind words with our team members. Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location, comfortable and clean rooms, quiet, large rooms, super friendly and professional staff. Really close to all the tours and easy walking to the market and King street shopping and restaurants.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank apy5v19y76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us here at Planters Inn! The location, team, and rooms are a true gem here in Charleston and what sets our property apart. All of us here at Planters Inn are delighted to know that you felt pampered and well taken care of during your time at our luxury boutique inn enjoying all the "heart of Charleston" has to offer. Thank you for your compliments about the warmth and Southern Hospitality you felt from our team, as they are a key to our success and we are fortunate to have them. Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our favorite hotel in downtown historic Charleston. In walking distance to many homes, sights and wonderful food. Rooms are large and decorated beautifully. Staff is the Best and very helpful. We highly recommend Planters Inn.

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank 817skipr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your second stay with us at Planters Inn! It is an oasis in the heart of historic Charleston that is not only a true historical landmark but within walking distance to the highlights the city has to offer. Thank you for your compliments about the warmth and Southern Hospitality you felt from our team, as they are a key to our success and we are fortunate to have them. Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed with our 18 month old and I cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel.

Gorgeous, clean, delicious food, OUTSTANDING STAFF, and perfect location. Great for traveling with a family, but I also would love to go back as just a couple. Fantastic hotel!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank desouzaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write about your "fantastic" experience with us here at Planters Inn for a family getaway! The location, team, and rooms are a true gem here in Charleston and what sets our property apart. All of us here at Planters Inn are delighted to know that you felt pampered and well taken care of during your time at our luxury boutique inn and look forward to doing so on your next stay as a romantic getaway for just the two of you. Furthermore, thank you for your compliments about the warmth and Southern Hospitality you felt from our team, as they are a key to our success and we are fortunate to have them. Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews