We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,341)
Filter reviews
2,341 results
Traveler rating
1,857
288
127
48
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,857
288
127
48
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peninsula grill coconut cake relais chateaux teddy bear southern charm sweet tea perfect location turn down service four poster bed sitting room market street within walking distance beautiful hotel historic district boutique hotel a wonderful stay beautiful room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 2,341 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our favorite hotel in downtown historic Charleston. In walking distance to many homes, sights and wonderful food. Rooms are large and decorated beautifully. Staff is the Best and very helpful. We highly recommend Planters Inn.

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank 817skipr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your second stay with us at Planters Inn! It is an oasis in the heart of historic Charleston that is not only a true historical landmark but within walking distance to the highlights the city has to offer. Thank you for your compliments about the warmth and Southern Hospitality you felt from our team, as they are a key to our success and we are fortunate to have them. Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed with our 18 month old and I cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel.

Gorgeous, clean, delicious food, OUTSTANDING STAFF, and perfect location. Great for traveling with a family, but I also would love to go back as just a couple. Fantastic hotel!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank desouzaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write about your "fantastic" experience with us here at Planters Inn for a family getaway! The location, team, and rooms are a true gem here in Charleston and what sets our property apart. All of us here at Planters Inn are delighted to know that you felt pampered and well taken care of during your time at our luxury boutique inn and look forward to doing so on your next stay as a romantic getaway for just the two of you. Furthermore, thank you for your compliments about the warmth and Southern Hospitality you felt from our team, as they are a key to our success and we are fortunate to have them. Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Planters Inn is a very warm and friendly hotel with the best location in historic Charleston. The staff is most gracious and accommodating in every way to make your visit perfect. From the time you arrive to when you leave, every part seems to be effortless taken care of.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bradparris007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write about your "Southern charm" experience with us here at Planters Inn! The location, team, and rooms are a true gem here in Charleston and what sets our property apart. We are delighted we could provide the Planters Inn experience you so richly deserve from the moment of arrival to our final farewell. Furthermore, thank you for your compliments about the warmth and Southern Hospitality you felt from our team, as they are a key to our success and we are fortunate to have them. Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was one of the best hotel experiences I have had in my life. My mother worked for the Leading Hotels of the World for the better part of my life, so high end hotels are very normal. The service and staff at this hotel is the best I have ever experienced! The were extremely accommodating, helpful and a true pleasure to deal with. We brought our 3 year old and the hotel staff honestly could not have been better to help with our needs with having him there. It is located within walking distance of the anything you will want to see in downtown Charleston. Stay here and don't forget to eat at the Peninsula Grill!!!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vnay14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for providing a glowing review of your experience at Planters Inn! The level of detail you provided about the friendliness of all of the staff, the central location of the inn, and how you enjoyed the Peninsula Grill is very much appreciated. Planters Inn strives to meet and exceed all of our guests' expectations and it gives us great pride to know that we provided excellent service for you as "one of the best hotel experiences". Thank you for taking the time to share with us! Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful historical hotel, very clean, excellent and helpful staff , great suite, they go all out with the personal touches within walking distance to a lot of things to do and see. Differently recommend

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jack k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us here at Planters Inn! The team, rooms, and history of the inn are a true gem here in Charleston and what sets our property apart. All of us here at Planters Inn are delighted to know that you felt pampered and well taken care of during your time at our luxury boutique inn with personal touches. Thank you for your compliments about the warmth and Southern Hospitality you felt from our team, as they are a key to our success and we are fortunate to have them. Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews