We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,341)
Filter reviews
2,341 results
Traveler rating
1,857
288
127
48
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,857
288
127
48
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peninsula grill coconut cake relais chateaux teddy bear southern charm sweet tea perfect location turn down service four poster bed sitting room market street within walking distance beautiful hotel historic district boutique hotel a wonderful stay beautiful room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 2,341 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was one of the best hotel experiences I have had in my life. My mother worked for the Leading Hotels of the World for the better part of my life, so high end hotels are very normal. The service and staff at this hotel is the best I have ever experienced! The were extremely accommodating, helpful and a true pleasure to deal with. We brought our 3 year old and the hotel staff honestly could not have been better to help with our needs with having him there. It is located within walking distance of the anything you will want to see in downtown Charleston. Stay here and don't forget to eat at the Peninsula Grill!!!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vnay14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for providing a glowing review of your experience at Planters Inn! The level of detail you provided about the friendliness of all of the staff, the central location of the inn, and how you enjoyed the Peninsula Grill is very much appreciated. Planters Inn strives to meet and exceed all of our guests' expectations and it gives us great pride to know that we provided excellent service for you as "one of the best hotel experiences". Thank you for taking the time to share with us! Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful historical hotel, very clean, excellent and helpful staff , great suite, they go all out with the personal touches within walking distance to a lot of things to do and see. Differently recommend

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jack k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us here at Planters Inn! The team, rooms, and history of the inn are a true gem here in Charleston and what sets our property apart. All of us here at Planters Inn are delighted to know that you felt pampered and well taken care of during your time at our luxury boutique inn with personal touches. Thank you for your compliments about the warmth and Southern Hospitality you felt from our team, as they are a key to our success and we are fortunate to have them. Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I booked a last minute one night stay in Charleston to celebrate our anniversary before family vacation. They were so friendly and welcoming from check in to check out and even delivered a bottle of bubbly and a personalized card to our room to celebrate! They also took time to give us recommendations on what to do in a Charleston after we had checked out. We were very impressed!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cstaple4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It is so great to hear that you had a fabulous experience celebrating your anniversary here at Planters Inn! We are so happy to hear that your stay with us at Planters Inn helped in providing you with comfort, luxury, and peace of mind during your visit to Charleston from the bottle of bubbly to offering all the best things to do in the city upon checkout. We strive to meet and exceed all of our guests' expectations and it gives us great pride to know that we provided excellent service for you. Thank you for taking the time to share with us! Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2019

We went for a quick weekend to Charleston and stayed at the Planters Inn. The staff, room, service, food, everything... was AMAZING. We had a gorgeous room with a nice balcony and were able to get a lovely dinner served in our room. We will definitely be back! Everything down to the smallest detail was handled by the staff. A+++!

Room tip: The Penthouse King has a large private balcony. Perfect for rooftop dinner!
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Jillian H,

We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Planters Inn!

It is an oasis in the heart of historic Charleston that is not only a true historical landmark but within walking distance to the highlights the city has to offer. All of us here at Planters Inn are delighted to know that you felt pampered and well taken care of during your time at our luxury boutique inn, especially as you were able to enjoy our hand-crafted Baker Collection four-poster beds. Furthermore, thank you for your compliments about the warmth and Southern Hospitality you felt from our team, as they are a key to our success and we are fortunate to have them. Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

It will be our pleasure to assist with reservations for your return visit. Our in-house reservations team will take care of anything you need. Please contact them directly: (843) 722-2345.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,

Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2019

Nothing short of fabulous. Perfectly located in the heart of downtown, we were able to walk everywhere. The outstanding front desk staff provided us with a map and tips on what we should see and do. Our room was ready well before check in, as we arrived on a morning flight. The staff was just lovely, from the front desk to housekeeping. Incredibly clean. Just a beautiful property. We loved sitting outside at night in the courtyard and sharing coffee outside our room, as there are small tables and rocking benches. You will not be disappointed!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank adrianamcgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Adrianamcgo,

We are absolutely delighted you chose to stay at Planters Inn for your recent visit to Charleston! Thank you for taking the time to share your five-star review of our "beautiful property." You now have a "home" in the very heart of Charleston with a location that is "unbeatable!"

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservation specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room as well as a preferred dining time at Peninsula Grill. Until then, we wish you good health and happiness.

Sincerely,
Tristan and the Planters Inn Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews