We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,348)
Filter reviews
2,348 results
Traveler rating
1,861
288
129
49
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,861
288
129
49
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peninsula grill coconut cake relais chateaux teddy bear southern charm sweet tea perfect location turn down service four poster bed sitting room market street within walking distance beautiful hotel historic district boutique hotel a wonderful stay street noise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 2,348 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2019

Nothing short of fabulous. Perfectly located in the heart of downtown, we were able to walk everywhere. The outstanding front desk staff provided us with a map and tips on what we should see and do. Our room was ready well before check in, as we arrived on a morning flight. The staff was just lovely, from the front desk to housekeeping. Incredibly clean. Just a beautiful property. We loved sitting outside at night in the courtyard and sharing coffee outside our room, as there are small tables and rocking benches. You will not be disappointed!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank adrianamcgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2019

Dear Adrianamcgo,

We are absolutely delighted you chose to stay at Planters Inn for your recent visit to Charleston! Thank you for taking the time to share your five-star review of our "beautiful property." You now have a "home" in the very heart of Charleston with a location that is "unbeatable!"

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservation specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room as well as a preferred dining time at Peninsula Grill. Until then, we wish you good health and happiness.

Sincerely,
Tristan and the Planters Inn Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2019

We celebrated my husband’s birthday in Charleston and stayed at the Planters Inn. Everything was fantastic - the refreshments served in the parlor were exactly what we needed after a day of shopping and touring in the Charleston heat. Dinner and breakfast at the Peninsula Grill was exceptional, as were our nightly cocktails at the bar. Request an interior room - the noise from the street at night is enough to keep light sleepers wide awake. Overall, a beautiful hotel in a beautiful city!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank randimd20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2019

It is so great to hear that you had a fabulous experience celebrating your husband's birthday here at Planters Inn! We are so happy to hear that your stay with us at Planters Inn helped in providing you with comfort, luxury, and peace of mind during your visit to Charleston, especially as you enjoyed treats in the parlor after a day of exploring the city. We strive to meet and exceed all of our guests' expectations and it gives us great pride to know that we provided excellent service for you at both the inn and the Peninsula Grill. Thank you for taking the time to share with us! Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2019

Planters Inn is by far the most classy upscale Inn around. Beautiful rooms and a gorgeous courtyard. Every staff member is so nice and friendly. Impeccable service! A piece of heaven on earth! This will be our place to stay when we come back to Charleston.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank HealthyWomenMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2019

Thank you very much for providing a glowing review of your experience at Planters Inn! The level of detail you provided about the friendliness of all of the staff, the beauty of your guest room, and how you enjoyed hidden garden oasis is very much appreciated. Planters Inn strives to meet and exceed all of our guests' expectations and it gives us great pride to know that we provided excellent service for you, deeming it "a piece of heaven on Earth". Thank you for taking the time to share with us! Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2019

The Planters Inn is a top-shelf hotel in a perfect location, with easy access to The Market, shopping, galleries,restaurants, and historic spots. Loved its restaurant and outdoor courtyard with the sparkling lights. Staff is exceptional from the point of arrival to departure. Great restaurant and accommodating servers.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Wanderer778127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2019

We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Planters Inn! It is an oasis in the heart of historic Charleston that is not only a true historical landmark but within walking distance to the highlights the city has to offer. We are delighted to hear you were also able to stay nearby to enjoy our hidden courtyard oasis lit by gas lanterns at the Peninsula Grill. Furthermore, thank you for your compliments about the warmth and Southern Hospitality you felt from our team, as they are a key to our success and we are fortunate to have them. Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019

Very good location. Everyone very helpful. Very relaxing. The restaurant was excellent. The rooms were clean, and had everything you would need. When I first arrived, they gave me some tips on the layout of the area, and places of interest.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us here at Planters Inn! The location, team, and rooms are a true gem here in Charleston and what sets our property apart. All of us here at Planters Inn are delighted to know that you felt pampered and well taken care of during your time at our luxury boutique inn and experienced excellent service at the Peninsula Grill. Thank you for your compliments about the warmth and Southern Hospitality you felt from our team, as they are a key to our success and we are fortunate to have them. Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews