We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,341)
Filter reviews
2,341 results
Traveler rating
1,857
288
127
48
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,857
288
127
48
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peninsula grill coconut cake relais chateaux teddy bear southern charm sweet tea perfect location turn down service four poster bed sitting room market street within walking distance beautiful hotel historic district boutique hotel a wonderful stay beautiful room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 2,341 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2019

The Planters Inn is a top-shelf hotel in a perfect location, with easy access to The Market, shopping, galleries,restaurants, and historic spots. Loved its restaurant and outdoor courtyard with the sparkling lights. Staff is exceptional from the point of arrival to departure. Great restaurant and accommodating servers.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Wanderer778127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2019

We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Planters Inn! It is an oasis in the heart of historic Charleston that is not only a true historical landmark but within walking distance to the highlights the city has to offer. We are delighted to hear you were also able to stay nearby to enjoy our hidden courtyard oasis lit by gas lanterns at the Peninsula Grill. Furthermore, thank you for your compliments about the warmth and Southern Hospitality you felt from our team, as they are a key to our success and we are fortunate to have them. Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019

Very good location. Everyone very helpful. Very relaxing. The restaurant was excellent. The rooms were clean, and had everything you would need. When I first arrived, they gave me some tips on the layout of the area, and places of interest.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us here at Planters Inn! The location, team, and rooms are a true gem here in Charleston and what sets our property apart. All of us here at Planters Inn are delighted to know that you felt pampered and well taken care of during your time at our luxury boutique inn and experienced excellent service at the Peninsula Grill. Thank you for your compliments about the warmth and Southern Hospitality you felt from our team, as they are a key to our success and we are fortunate to have them. Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019

This was our first visit to Charleston and it was wonderful! We chose Planters Inn because of the close proximity to everything. Arriving at Planters Inn, we were warmly greeted by the staff. Check in was a breeze and we were given great recommendations of restaurants and sights to see. The front parlor was inviting with coffee and tea in the morning followed by sweet tea, ice water and lemonade in the afternoon . We had a piazza king on the second floor which was clean, quiet and very comfortable. Housekeeping along with all of the staff were very attentive and helpful. We did not dine at the Peninsula Grill, though the bar is strongly recommended. Korey and Cassandra welcomed us by name each time. The staff, drinks and the ‘famous coconut cake’ were phenomenal. Highly recommend Planters Inn

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angelfish2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2019

We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Planters Inn! It is an oasis in the heart of historic Charleston that is not only a true historical landmark but within walking distance to the highlights the city has to offer. All of us here at Planters Inn are delighted to know that you felt pampered and well taken care of during your time at our luxury boutique inn from the homemade treats in the parlor to a warm greeting at the Peninsula Grill bar. Furthermore, thank you for your compliments about the warmth and Southern Hospitality you felt from Korey and Casandra and the rest of our team, as they are a key to our success and we are fortunate to have them. Here is wishing you many happy memories and slices of coconut cake on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2019

My husband and I stayed here for his birthday getaway and everything was amazing. Unfortunately, my husband wasn’t feeling well, so we stayed in our room for most of our stay.
The staff, including Steve Boyd at the front desk, AJ from Bell Services, TC from Housekeeping, and all the staff we interacted with really made our stay a great one! Steve surprised my husband with a delicious slice of their famous coconut cake, and it made his night! The bed was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in and the teddy bear on the bed was adorable! The macarons at turn down were delicious and the room was beautiful. We will definitely stay here again and look forward to visiting Charleston again in the future!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Cristina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2019

It is so great to hear that you had a fabulous experience celebrating your husband's birthday getaway here at Planters Inn! We are so happy to hear that your stay with us at Planters Inn helped in providing you with comfort, luxury, and peace of mind during your visit to Charleston even in the midst of not feeling well during vacation. We strive to meet and exceed all of our guests' expectations and it gives us great pride to know that we, and especially Steve, AJ, and TC provided excellent service for you. Thank you for taking the time to share with us! Here is wishing you many happy memories and slices of coconut cake on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2019

Great experience, outstanding service, and a true gourmet restaurant. Great location that accommodates walking around and seeing the sights of Charleston. Highly recommended. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GolfChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2019

It is so great to hear that you had a fabulous experience celebrating your anniversary here at Planters Inn! The location, team, and the Peninsula Grill are a true gem here in Charleston and what sets our property apart. All of us here at Planters Inn are delighted to know that you felt pampered and well taken care of during your time at our luxury boutique in on such a special occasion. Furthermore, thank you for your compliments about the warmth and Southern Hospitality you felt from our team, as they are a key to our success and we are fortunate to have them. Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews