We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,341)
Filter reviews
2,341 results
Traveler rating
1,857
288
127
48
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,857
288
127
48
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peninsula grill coconut cake relais chateaux teddy bear southern charm sweet tea perfect location turn down service four poster bed sitting room market street within walking distance beautiful hotel historic district boutique hotel a wonderful stay beautiful room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 2,341 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2019

We just spent a night at the Planters Inn for a get away. We've been to Charleston many times and this was a hotel we've always dreamed of staying in. It's location is perfect and it's charm is timeless. The service was thoughtful and perfect. It's clear their first priority is a wonderful visit. The bellman were delightful and helped us with restaurants and our car. The desk staff were all lovely and attentive. The decor is beautiful and traditional. The rooms were large and the beds were incredibly comfortable. Being from the north, looking for a traditional Southern experience, it met every expectation.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2019

Dear Deborah B,

Thank you for sharing such wonderful feedback with us regarding your recent visit to Planters Inn. Earning a guest's referral is the highest honor imaginable, and we are grateful for your kind words.

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

With Best Wishes,
Tristan & the Planters Inn Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2019

We took a friend to experience Charleston for the first time. Planters Inn was a great find. Beautiful hotel, perfect location and a wonderful restaurant next door. The rooms were clean, beautifully appointed and quiet.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2019

Dear Beth S,

Wow! Thank you for this wonderful five-star review of Planters Inn!

We are absolutely delighted to know your recent visit was memorable, and we look forward to helping make your future visits to Charleston equally wonderful. A warm welcome awaits your return.

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.


Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin and The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2019

Great location and attentive service!
Highly recommend the St.Philips suite.
And you must have dinner at the Peninsula Grill. The Sea Scallops and the famous Coconut Cake are so delicious.
The lighted outdoor seating is a wonderful way to end your evening.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank julia3435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write about your "Southern Hospitality" experience with us here at Planters Inn! I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us. I'm delighted that you found attentive service, delicious food, and a great location within walking distance to all the city has to offer. Planters Inn is the true blend of Historic and modern amenities, as showcased in the outstanding St. Phillip Suite, and we are happy to hear you would highly recommend it. Furthermore, we look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy another evening in our hidden garden oasis beautifully lit by gas lanterns. Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a lovely Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2019

From the location of the hotel, to the staff, to the room accommodations, to the dining, my entire group of guests were extremely pleased and felt at ease during our stay. We came down to celebrate my sister as she is getting married this year for a bachelorette weekend. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Passenger35413782793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us here at Planters Inn! The location, team, and rooms are a true gem here in Charleston and what sets our property apart. All of us here at Planters Inn are delighted to know that you felt pampered and well taken care of during your time at our luxury boutique inn, while celebrating your sister on her bachelorette weekend. We wish you and the group a wonderful upcoming wedding and are delighted we could give all of you a weekend getaway. Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2019

Classy hotel with wonderful accommodations. Staff was very welcoming and attentive to all needs. The Peninsula Grill is a fabulous restaurant. Truly a classic. Only problem is they insist on 200 characters in a review.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2019

First of all - Happy Anniversary to you! It is so great to hear that you had a fabulous experience celebrating your special occasion here at Planters Inn. We thank you for providing a glowing review. We would not be who we are without the dedication, kindness, and hard work from our staff members. Planters Inn and the Peninsula Grill strive to meet and exceed all of our guests' expectations and it gives us great pride to know that we provided excellent service for you through the accommodations and dinner service. It is our goal to ensure that each and every guest has a relaxing, enjoyable stay and it is an honor to provide you with the Southern Hospitality you deserve. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,
Tristan Martin and The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews