We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,341)
Filter reviews
2,341 results
Traveler rating
1,857
288
127
48
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,857
288
127
48
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peninsula grill coconut cake relais chateaux teddy bear southern charm sweet tea perfect location turn down service four poster bed sitting room market street within walking distance beautiful hotel historic district boutique hotel a wonderful stay beautiful room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 2,341 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2019

I love Charleston and have visited more than once. This trip I splurged and booked Planters Inn. The inn is right in the midst of the historical sites with the exception of Fort Sumpter. Rooms and bathrooms are ample and well stocked. Great, 4 poster beds. Staff is exceptional.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TrailBlazer1730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2019

Dear TrailBlazer1730,

We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Planters Inn!

It is an oasis in the heart of historic Charleston that is not only a true historical landmark but within walking distance to the highlights the city has to offer. All of us here at Planters Inn are delighted to know that you felt pampered and well taken care of during your time at our luxury boutique inn, especially as you were able to enjoy our hand-crafted Baker Collection four-poster beds. Furthermore, thank you for your compliments about the warmth and Southern Hospitality you felt from our team, as they are a key to our success and we are fortunate to have them. Here is wishing you many happy memories on your next trip to Charleston!

It will be our pleasure to assist with reservations for your return visit. Our in-house reservations team will take care of anything you need. Please contact them directly: (843) 722-2345.

Again, thank you for sharing these kind words with us.

Warm Regards,

Tristan Martin & The Planters Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2019

Planter Inn is a Top Drawer hotel in Charleston , SC. Beautiful, spacious, and comfortable rooms, Staff is very friendly and helpful. Their restaurant, the Peninsula Grill is outstanding. Food and service is excellent.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2019

Dear Jeffrey S,

Your kind words are appreciated by our entire team. Thank you!

We are delighted to know you enjoyed beautiful accommodations and friendly service. Our colleagues at Peninsula Grill will be pleased to know your dinner was "excellent" on all accounts.

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Sincerely,
Tristan and the Planters Inn Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2019

Wonderful historic hotel. Great service and staff. Location is great.
We were welcomed and pampered.rooms are beautiful and spacious. All of the EXTRA touches are greatly appreciated. Bar and waitstaff were top notch. Housekeeping was fantastic and attentive. Penisula grill was wonderful.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pioneer42730729992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2019

Dear Pioneer42730729992,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding Planters Inn. It is such a joy to discover that our guests felt "pampered" as that is our goal each and every day! We are delighted to know you enjoyed your recent visit and look forward to welcoming you back one day.

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Sincerely,
Tristan and the Planters Inn Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2019

Lovely spot in the heart of Charleston and quiet despite being across the street from the touristy marketplace. Easy to get to from the airport. But no fitness room, pool, if you want (we do not). Breakfast is great in the room or in the dining room inside or al fresco.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AMY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2019

Dear AMY D,

We are delighted to know you enjoyed a "quiet and charming" stay at Planters Inn! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. The sweet ladies who served you breakfast say "hello and come back soon!"

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Sincerely,
Tristan and the Planters Inn Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019

Charm; hospitality, comfortable rooms and a great Courtyard to enjoy the evening after a full day of fun or after your evening meal. The staff goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome and offers suggestions to meet exactly what you are looking for while in town

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2019

Dear Karen V,

Wow! Thank you for this wonderful five-star review of Planters Inn!

We are absolutely delighted to know your recent visit was memorable, and we look forward to helping make your future visits to Charleston equally wonderful. A warm welcome awaits your return.

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservations specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Planters Inn room awaiting your arrival.

Sincerely,
Tristan and the Planters Inn Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews