We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,273)
Filter reviews
2,273 results
Traveler rating
1,794
284
127
48
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,794
284
127
48
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peninsula grill coconut cake relais chateaux teddy bear southern charm four poster bed turn down service perfect location sitting room market street small hotel historic district within walking distance lovely room charming hotel a wonderful stay street noise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 2,273 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is gorgeous and the staff is wonderful , we will be staying this weekend and I will only stay here when visiting Charleston. Lots of news swanky hotel in Charleston now but if you want pure class and the old south this is it . Can’t beat the courtyard for late night drinks and morning breakfast .

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank KnoxvilleFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

"I will only stay here when visiting Charleston."

KnoxvilleFord: You have bestowed the highest honor imaginable upon us with your loyalty, and we will always go the extra mile to provide you with the best experience possible.

On behalf of the entire Planters Inn staff—thank you.

Sincerely,
Tristan, Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic stay with great personable staff that was ready to help at every step of the way. The location of the hotel is unbeatable - you can walk everywhere.
The restaurant was fantastic, ended up cancelling another reservation to dine a second night there.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank philippn370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear philippn370,

Thank you for taking the time to share "Great all the way!" feedback regarding your recent stay at Planters Inn.

We are delighted to know our amazing location and personable service contributed to your "fantastic stay."

Our colleagues at Peninsula Grill will be tickled to know you opted to dine there two nights in a row. They are true masters at creating enchanted evenings that are long remembered. We hope you enjoyed two towering slices of the Ultimate Coconut Cake!

Sincerely,
Tristan, Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we just got back from a wonderful trip to Charleston sc.
we stayed at the Planters inn. AWESOME location and wonderful property.
Marcus along with the entire staff took great Care of all of us (6 including rented bikes)
we will be back

Room tip: rent bikes to ride all around Charleston, traffic is bad
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Melissa L,

Thanks for hosting your birthday trip at Planters Inn! It was a pleasure to take care of you and your five friends, and we are thrilled to know you all enjoyed a "wonderful" time.

We're glad to know you will be back, and we'll make sure you have a beautiful room for your return visit.

Until we say hello again, we wish you many more happy memories with your friends!

Sincerely,
Tristan, Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Planters Inn this weekend looking for some R&R in a 4.5 stars hotel. The location is perfect and the rooms are spacious. Unfortunately, we were highly disappointed as we ran into several issues during our stay (they were brought up to management’s attention during our stay). When we arrived to the hotel my husband had to help the bellman bring the luggage in and our room was not ready until after 3pm (3pm is the promised time for check in). The next morning we had to call in when we got back to our room after having been out all morning (at almost noon time) to have our room made up. Later that afternoon we noticed that our room had been made up half way and that the toiletries had not been replenished as we did not have shampoo or a shower cap. We had to call the front desk, twice, to have them bring toiletries. By the time they came to our room with the toiletries we were done with our showers. This morning we went to shower and noticed that still we did not have any shampoo and that the little bottles that were inside the shower were body wash, conditioner and lotion... yes, lotion...my husband had to call the front desk, once again, for someone to bring some shampoo to the room. As we checked out there was no one to help us take our luggage out and help us put it in the car. The lack of service that we experienced at The Planters Inn is nothing that you’d expect of a Relais & Chateau property that costs over $500/night. What a disappointment!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rosa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Rosa S,

First and most importantly, I apologize that your stay did not exceed expectations. We are passionate about authentic, high-quality hospitality, and we work diligently to exceed each guest's expectations for a lovely, memorable stay. It sounds like there were aspects of your visit we could improve upon, and I invite you to contact me directly at your convenience if you would like to discuss these matters further. Additionally, we would all like the opportunity to regain your trust. If your travels bring you back to Charleston, please contact me so I may ensure your second visit is as close to perfect as possible.

Sincerely,
Brad Dickerson, Guest Services
managers@plantersinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was our first visit to Charleston and we couldn’t have chosen a better hotel. Small, historic, with a really warm and friendly staff. We were in the Governor’s suite which was great for the three of us. Location was central. Didn’t care much for the hawkers on Market Street but that was the only downside. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank JCArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlantersInnChs, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear JCArlington,

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Planters Inn for the first time, and we look forward to saying "hello" many times in the future!

When you are ready to return to Charleston, our on-site reservation specialists will ensure you have a beautiful Governor's Suite awaiting your arrival as well as a preferred dining time at Peninsula Grill.

Until we meet again, we wish you good health and happiness.

Sincerely,
Tristan and the Planters Inn Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews